In Which I am Inspired by my German Heritage

29 Sep

Folks, I don’t know if it is due to Oktoberfest or the fact that I found two amazing dirndls while thrifting, but I’m really digging traditional German clothing right now.  The other night, I pulled out my old Burda magazines from the year I had a subscription (2009) and came across these images in the September issue.

Crazy pleated blouse

This coat is definitely on the “to make” list

Cool braid and asymmetrical details on this jacket

I then remembered reading in Forties Fashion: From Siren Suits to the New Look that Tyrolean/Alpine styles were very popular in the late thirties and early forties. I’m guessing these types of styles went out rather quickly when war began! If you scroll the interwebs you see many pictures from this period of stars in dirndls and suspender skirts. Here is one of my favorites that I found, granted this is from a Tyrolean Party.

Recognize anyone?

I have some patterns in my collection from this period in which I definitely see the influence.

Note the dirndl styling of the skirt and shirt combo.

The jacket of this pattern is reminiscent of the traditional little jacket commonly worn with the dirndl.

Again, another dirndl looking outfit

I actually made this dress last year (view 2) but it came out looking a bit “school-marm” for my taste so into the wadder pile it went!

Finally, Q at Q’s Daydream Vintage turned me onto Lena Hoschek’s “Tradition” collection. ERMAGERD they are all SO AMAZING!!

Please note the lengths of ribbon sewed to make this skirt. What an amazing idea!

Images from the collection can be found on Q’s blog and here.

I’m so incredibly inspired by all these images!! I have a great thrifted mens boiled wool jacket that I plan to take apart and turn into one of these jaunty jackets. Burda currently has some great traditional German jacket patterns that I hope to scoop up and use for this purpose. I’d love to snag a green Tyrolean hat as well. I would look so pert with my dirndl and jacket! Now, just to find somewhere to wear it ;)

Unfortunately, I’m currently unable to act on my inspiration. My sewing machine is pretty much spoken for right now as I finish up my Halloween costume and then begin my daughters. In an amazing stroke of luck she actually took my suggestion and is going to be Marie Antoinette for Halloween this year! I only had one caveat; she has to wear a red velvet ribbon around her neck to signify the beheading. She thought this was a bit morbid, but she’s going to go with it. Huzzah!

So how about you folks? Are you inspired by traditional German styles?

Eileen

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “In Which I am Inspired by my German Heritage”

  1. gail September 29, 2012 at 3:23 PM #

    When I visited my aunt in Bavaria this spring, we spent a day in Salzburg and it was so cool to see the dirndls und lederhosen in the shop windows. Gorgeous, fancy ones too! And my other aunt used to wear a dirndl all the time when she lived in Bavaria.

    I do love the Tyrolean style sweaters, and someday I’ll get around to making one.

  2. prttynpnk September 29, 2012 at 6:28 PM #

    Wow- I loved that Burda! I also love that Harlow was just so comfortable with herself that she rocked the leiderhosen while the others went full Pinnochio- like good party guests forced into Mr Hearsts costumes!

Leave a Reply

