Pretty Pattern Sunday #40

30 Sep

Bouncing off yesterday’s post I came across these great Burda patterns for traditional German jackets.

I really like the cropped jacket shown here. It would look so nice in a green boiled wool, don’tcha think? The longer one would make a great riding jacket in a red wool with black velveteen trim.

I also really like this jacket pattern from them.

I really appreciate view b’s cute neckline. That would be great to show off some of the lace from the dirndl shirt.¬† Unfortunately, I may have to Frankenstein the patterns so that they look more like Lena’s. I think the first pattern would be best for that,; I would have to bring the waistline down and out to form the frilly little peplum. I’ve got a great grey boiled wool man’s coat that I could cut up and use for this purpose. I would love it with that great sage green trim that you so often see on these jackets.

Hope ya’ll are enjoying your weekend. I’m trying to take it easy today and not get too excited. If all goes as planned, we’re closing on the farm tomorrow at noon! Wish us luck!

Eileen

 

3 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #40”

  1. mancunianvintage September 30, 2012 at 4:12 PM #

    Ooh like those a lot!

  2. Danielle October 1, 2012 at 1:46 AM #

    I’ve been loving traditional german styles lately too! I actually just finished sewing my first dirndl! I talked about that exact Lena Hoschek jacket in my post about dirndls, I think it’s gorgeous! You should check out Susanne Spatt, she’s another designer that sews traditional german clothing.

    • eileensbasement October 1, 2012 at 5:07 PM #

      Ah, I just checked out your blog- so pretty!! Thanks for the hint about Susanne Spatt; I just added a bunch more inspiration to my files!

Leave a Reply

