In Which We Take a Tour

6 Oct

Dear Readers, I thank you all so, so much for your sweet words and congratulations. We have lived the transient life for about five years now and figured it is about time to put down some roots. Would you like to take a tour of the inside of our farm house? I just want to note that these are pictures taken by the seller as we don’t move in until mid-November.

First stop is the living room, which one enters through the front door.

Here you can see that the original window frames are still intact. In fact, this is the only place in the house where this is so as the others have been replaced with double paned energy efficient models. But I’m pretty sure that you, like me, did not at first notice the windows and rather your eye traveled first to the built in bookshelves on either side of the fireplace! Aren’t they marvelous? I love to have a wood fire so I’m looking forward to winter and building fires and roasting marshmallows with the family on cold nights! We’ve been told that underneath the carpet is the original wooden floors, so can you guess what one of the first changes I will make will be?

This view is the other side of the living room. You can see that the wood in this house has been taken good care of over the years. That door on the left  is a sizable coat closet and get this- it still has the original mirror in the door! The stairs lead up to the second floor and the bedrooms.

Next stop is the formal dining room, accessible through the french doors in the living room.

I love the color in this room and don’t plan to change it save for the ripping up of the carpet. One of my favorite things about this room is the built in bench which runs along the windows. Here is a better view of that:

The benches actually have little latches and OPEN UP which I thought was just so cool. I can store my vintage linens in there! It’s so great that all these built ins have survived over the years.

Next stop is the kitchen, which is rather unremarkable to me. My husband said that I needed to overlook kitchens on our search since none of them really lived up to my ideals. He said that’s something we can always fix later when we get more established. It does have  a cute little nook off to the right of what we’re looking at in this photo that will be perfect for a little retro table. There is a long wall to the left of the counter and I plan to put a Hoosier cabinet of one kind or another there. I plan to retro-fy this kitchen for SURE!

Let’s head upstairs shall we?

The stairs are neat, they go up and then go right. At the top of this little flight before they head to the right is a little window which looks out over our pasture and site of future garden and orchard. Would you like to see it?

We have a total of five acres on this property. The plan is to start in the spring with chickens, bees and angora rabbits. The year after that we’ll think about adding livestock in the form of sheep and dairy goats. Cool right? Anyway, back to the house. At the top of the stairs is the bathroom.

I think it has a lot of potential. I find it a bit odd that the floor is wood and not tile. I appreciate that there is plenty of storage under the sink though I am sort of partial to pedestal sinks. Opposite the “terlet” is the shower/bath and a pretty neat little bathroom linens cupboard. Did I tell you there is a LAUNDRY CHUTE?! How nifty is that?! It goes straight to the basement. So neat. The tile has been painted over. I asked the seller what color is underneath and she said either powder blue or salmon. I plan to remove the paint and restore her to her former glory. I’m thinking eventually we’d like to put tile down. What with water and all that, I just don’t want the floor to warp. What color we go with depends entirely on the color of the tile under the paint. This isn’t until way in the future though!

To the right and left of the bathroom are the bedrooms.

This is the master. To the right is the “hers” closet and to the left of the bed is the “his.” I’ve decided on this since the “hers” is clearly a lot larger than the “his.” One thing that surprised me a lot about this house is the ginormous closets. I have never seen anything like it on a house of this age. When we move in, I’ll have to take some photos to show you guys but trust me, the amount of storage space in this house is amazing.

Finally we have the two kids rooms.

This will be my son’s room. He’s pleased because it’s much bigger than what he currently has, and his closet is so big, it’s like a secret fort (his words). His closet has a bench in it for sitting down on to put on one’s shoes! I love the wall color and don’t plan to change it as I think this green will go great with the new to us but old in years brass bed we just bought for him. I’ll share in another post.

And this, my dears, is my daughter’s room which is nearly as big as the master bed room. I’m sure this had a lot to do with why she chose it. I think we’ll change the wall color in here (it remains to be seen what she wants, but she plans to paint her iron bed mint green so I’m rooting for a delicate shell pink). Also, instead of just one closet, this room has two big ol’ closets. The door your looking at here is a closet but the closet also has a door inside of it which goes up to the HUGE attic. The attic is currently unfinished but that is definitely on the radar as I would love to use it as a GIANT craft and sewing studio! When we move in I’ll get a photo to show you guys.

I think that’s it! I opted not to include pictures of the basement, extra bathroom (which is boring) and the utility room. I’d love to show you the barn, but alas, I don’t currently have a picture of it, plus I think it will be more picturesque when we finally get animals into it. Thank you for allowing me to share my joy with you. I can’t wait to see this house evolve as we live in it.

And now I must away for I have an appointment to see a beautiful red and white Hoosier cabinet today!

Eileen

8 Responses to “In Which We Take a Tour”

  1. gail October 6, 2012 at 10:25 AM #

    I’m so excited to see these pictures, Eileen! It’s beautiful! You must be walking on air!!

    • eileensbasement October 6, 2012 at 5:10 PM #

      Yes ma’am I surely am. Thank you for the compliment! I can’t wait to move in!

  2. janna October 6, 2012 at 10:38 AM #

    It’s wonderful! Congratulations, Eileen!

  3. Susan Calhoun October 6, 2012 at 3:40 PM #

    So awesome, congrats! I grew up in an old house so love all the woodwork too.

    • eileensbasement October 6, 2012 at 5:11 PM #

      Thanks! We’re going to have a housewarming party and I hope you can come!

  4. elizaduckie October 6, 2012 at 9:41 PM #

    What a charming house! And it looks very clean and very well looked after, that’s such a plus! Even tho’ you may not care for the style of the kitchen it looks to be in remarkably good shape. That will certainly buy you time to find the perfect pieces for it and for you. Congratulations again!

    • eileensbasement October 7, 2012 at 6:21 AM #

      Yes the house has been VERY well looked after. In fact, the inspector told us that she’s in better shape than some houses that were built ten years ago! And that’s exactly the point that Alex made about the kitchen. It is in great shape and serves it’s function and 98% of people would say it looks nice. It’s just because I want it to look old fashioned that I’m fussed about it. But everything will come together in time.

Leave a Reply

