In Which I Knit a Tyrolean Sweater

24 Oct

Hiya folks,

Today I thought I’d share with you a recent finished knit. After all my talk about German inspiration I realized that I had just finished knitting a traditional sweater!

Mmm . . . Bobble-y

The pattern is from Sarah Dallas’ Tyrolean Cardigan from the book Vintage Knits: 30 Exquisite Vintage Inspired Patterns. The original has a very sweet flower embroidery in between the vertical rows of bobbles, but it was a little too kindergarten teacher for my taste. I used a great workhorse yarn for this; Cascade 220 Sport weight in the green heather colorway. In fact, this yarn represents a kind departing gift from my place of employment in Tampa. Awww.

Who doesn’t want to look like an alligator?

I know this style isn’t to everyone’s taste. When I finished knitting it, my daughter exclaimed that the bobbles reminded her of an alligator. I thought this was an apt description since the yarn came from Florida! Unlike in Florida, this sweater will get a lot of wear here in the wilds of Ohio. I like it. I think the bobbles lend it a bit of interest and you’d be hard pressed to find a bobble on a sweater in any store these days.

To complete the sweater, I used some dark shell buttons from the stash. Side note; has anyone else noticed that it’s harder to find good shell buttons in the big box stores these days? Why is that? The only luck I have finding them is online or in antique stores. I digress.

So there you have it. Apparently I’ve been feeling this Tyrolean inspired vibe for longer than I’d thought! What do ya’ll think- bobbles are sexy . . . right? Sweater ravelled here.

Peace out!

Eileen

 

4 Responses to “In Which I Knit a Tyrolean Sweater”

  1. gail October 24, 2012 at 8:24 AM #

    This is so perfect – leaving the flowers off, the loden green color. I want one too!

  2. Jen October 27, 2012 at 12:08 AM #

    Wow, this is amazing! I have several garments on my needles but as I’m a novice knitter they go so slowly…

    • eileensbasement October 27, 2012 at 6:37 AM #

      You’ll get there, just stick with it! I’ve been knitting avidly for about six years now but I was knitting sweaters within my first year of knitting. For me knitting goes slowly because it’s hard to work it in with all my other hobbies vying for my attention!

Leave a Reply

