Pretty Pattern Sunday #44

16 Dec

Hello! Is anyone still out there? Wow, what a crazy couple of months I’ve been having here at the ol’ homestead.

First, we moved in a week early. Let me tell you, I’m so GRATEFUL that we were able to because we got the keys on the 2nd, moved on the 4th and spent that entire week shuffling from the old place to the new. Let me just say that I felt all thirty of my years and I’m very glad that I don’t ever intend to move again if I can help it!

Next we had our housewarming party which took place on the 10th. Did this bad blogger take any photographs of the night? NO! Ugh. It was a great time; we had over thirty friends arrive and plenty of food and beverages for all. We ended up eating the leftovers for a week!

Then, it took nearly a month for internet service to be hooked up. There is approximately ONE internet service that actually has lines to our house and let’s just say they act like it. Ha ha. Once we got the internet, my laptop decided it doesn’t like being wireless anymore which means I have to physically plug it in my daughter’s room. Not fun. Anyhow, this month long break meant that I sort of weaned myself off of all the time I was spending on the internet so for that I’m grateful.

Finally, and most importantly of all. My brother was hospitalized at the end of November to the middle of December. I spent two weeks with him, my lovely sis in law and nephew. It was touch and go for a while there but thankfully he is going to be fine. So you can see that this has been a pretty atypical couple of months for me!

With all that said, let’s see a pretty pattern shall we?

I’m really wanting to make this dress. I’ve probably posted it before, as it’s one of my favorites, but I can’t be bothered to go back and look. If I have, my apologies.

Green Dress

 

When I was still living in Florida I scored a lovely and unexpected length of sage green wool jersey. It’s got a lovely hand and would be just perfect for this pattern. Does anyone have experience working with this fabric? Do share any tricks or tips if you have. Unfortunately, this fabric, and all my other sewing stuff are still sitting in boxes in my basement (did you hear that, I actually HAVE a basement now!) waiting to be unpacked. I shall have to remedy this.

Wow, it’s so nice to return to relative normalcy after a hectic few months. I say that now but I’m planning to brave the holiday shoppers and finish up some last minute holiday shopping today. I hope to be back soon to share with you an outfit I wore to a recent holiday party and some family Christmas cookie recipes.

Ta ta for now!

Eileen

4 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #44”

  1. Andrea December 16, 2012 at 8:01 AM #

    So glad to have you back and hear that your brother is better!

  2. gail December 16, 2012 at 9:22 AM #

    I’ve been meaning to send you a note, so I was glad to see this post! And happy that you’re all settling in now, despite some bumps in the road.

    This dress is so lovely – I hope you do get time to make it up!

  3. janna December 16, 2012 at 6:20 PM #

    Nice to have you back — and I have to say, I’m glad to hear you haven’t unpacked ALL of your boxes yet! I still have some in my garage from my move in September!

  4. Aimeelevash@yahoo.com May 7, 2013 at 1:20 PM #

    I made this dress. I just didn’t include the bows. I’ve gotten a lot of compliments!

Leave a Reply

