In Which I Finally Wear my Perfect Christmas Dress

31 Dec

I know, I know, Christmas is over and many of you are glad to see it go. Due to being at the hospital over the holidays I didn’t get  a chance to post too much about our holiday and I hope you’ll bear with me while I catch up some.

A dear friend of mine hosted her annual Christmas ornament exchange and I thought it would be the perfect time to finally wear a dress that I bought ages ago. You see, when I was living in Florida, I modeled vintage clothing for the BEST vintage shop I’ve had the pleasure to frequent; Sherry’s Yeserdaze. Her etsy shop is here. It was so much fun to go and pick out clothes and basically play grown up dress up. Sherry often admonished me not to pick things I was in love with since they had to go on the site to sell. A tough thing for this vintage loving gal. And so it happened that I modeled and fell in love with this dress.

Eileen

The original modeling picture

It’s a lovely 1950’s velveteen that has been well loved over the years. There are several tucks in the bodice that are not original, as well as lines where the hem has been raised and then lowered again. Oh, if this dress could talk! It also has glorious, hefty pockets; a must when all you have is a little clutch.

This is how I wore it to my friends party:

201The jaunty little fur capelet was a gift to me from my Mom’s cousin. The cape was her mother’s and let me just say, it is WARM! It was at least 40 degrees out when I wore this and I didn’t need anything else. The interior has the cutest little pocket.

Showing the interior and my brooch

Showing the interior and my brooch

The cute little brooch was a gift to me from none other than Casey herself! It garnered many compliments and many thought it was part of the dress they were so perfect together.

Pocket evidence

Pocket evidence

And here is me showing you the spaciousness of the pockets! They are perfect for parties when you don’t know what else to do with your hands as I often feel.

Finally, here is a picture of how I did my hair. I set the sides back with combs and then rolled the back up using a rat and pinning it into place. Simple, easy vintage updo for those times you don’t feel like setting your hair!

202And that’s all folks! I had a great time at the party and I think a large part of that was not only the wonderful company, but the fact that I felt like I looked pretty fabulous!

I hope you all had a fabulous holiday season as well.

Eileen

5 Responses to “In Which I Finally Wear my Perfect Christmas Dress”

  1. purplepincushion December 31, 2012 at 10:07 AM #

    Beautiful!

  2. Gail December 31, 2012 at 11:20 AM #

    You DO look fabulous! Red is such a great color for you – I’m glad you kept this dress for yourself! The whole ensemble is just perfect.

    Happy New Year!

  3. twinklingnorthstar December 31, 2012 at 6:48 PM #

    Gorgeous, gorgeous. Well done! love the colour choice. :)

  4. Janey December 31, 2012 at 8:04 PM #

    Oh my!! It’s marvelous!!

    xoxo
    -Janey

  5. 1susy January 1, 2013 at 2:05 PM #

    You look mahvelous…simply mahvelous! Is the vintage shop in Ybor? (oh, and you’ll notice I don’t yet have a blog…I can’t figure out how to post pics on wordpress…may have to downgrade to google!)

Leave a Reply

