Pretty Pattern Sunday #47

16 Jun

Hiya folks!

Yesterday was the most glorious day. The weather was hot, but not too hot. The sky was clear, but not too clear. There was just enough of a breeze that we decided it would be a good day to go strawberry picking.

We’d seen signs for a local u-pick operation and, since my husband has to work today, we decided to celebrate Father’s Day yesterday. We headed out to the farm which was just lovely, a real inspiration for me, and proceeded to taste the three varieties on offer and then pick. And pick. And pick! We came away with over 13 pounds of fruit!

What does this mean for yours truly? Well I’ll be canning some jam today! I’m using these wonderful books and I’ll be making “Old Fashioned Strawberry Jam” (of course!), Classic Strawberry Preserves, Strawberry and Lemon Preserves (I’m most excited by the possibilities of this one!) and Rhubarb and Strawberry Jam.

Well as anyone who cans knows, you need a good apron. And that brings me to today’s pretty pattern.

Cock Apron

I’m finding that now that I keep chickens, I’m really enjoying things that have chickens on them. Don’t fret, I haven’t acted on this yet.┬áBut I think this is the most darling pattern! I love that the pocket is a rooster and the fun sort of scalloped edge trimmed in ric-rac, which would probably be very difficult to sew but also pretty worth it.

And speaking of chickens, I’m about ready to head out and feed both my flocks, chicken and sheep. Hope you all have a lovely weekend!

Eileen

One Response to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #47”

  1. thevintagetraveler June 19, 2013 at 10:33 AM #

    What a great pattern! I’ve never seen one with that type of edging, and of course the chicken pocket is so funny.

Leave a Reply

