Pretty Pattern Sunday #48

23 Jun

When I was younger one of my favorite movies was The Parent Trap. And I’m not talking about the one that came out in the late ’90s with Lindsey Lohan, I’m talking about the original 1961 film with Hayley Mills and Maureen O’Hara.  I loved it so much that after seeing it, I told my first grade teacher that I had a twin who lived in Idaho with my “real Mom!” This little bit of news was subsequently posted in the school newsletter and made my REAL real Mom understandably pissed.

This film also instilled in me a deep and abiding want to go to camp. Really, I didn’t care what kind of camp, but the opening scenes with the girls living in cabins and getting up to all manner of camp hijinks just seemed like the epitome of summer fun to me. To this day I still regret deeply that I never was sent to camp.

Hayley Mills and Hayley Mills in their cute camp outfits!

Hayley Mills and Hayley Mills in their cute camp outfits!

So, when the opportunity recently arose to send my lovely daughter to 4H Camp, I decided to take it! I’m so very excited for her to be able to attend. Unfortunately for my camp fantasy, my daughter can wear pretty much whatever she wants unlike the little camp outfits the twins wear in The Parent Trap above.

Funnily enough, this brings us in a roundabout way to today’s pretty pattern.

4H Uniform!

4H Uniform!

This, my friends, is a 4H Uniform sewing pattern from the same era as The Parent Trap. I bought it because I thought it was a great shirt dress pattern (which it is) never thinking that in a few short years, I’d own a farm, and my kids would be active members of their 4H club!

How about you? Did you always want to go to camp? Did you get to go? Was it as wonderful as I always imagined? Well folks I’m going to go help my girl finish packing and send her off!!

Eileen

P.S. I actually started sewing something yesterday! I’m so excited and can’t wait to show you. I don’t think I’ve sewn, oh, since we moved into the house in November of last year. I’m so glad the ol’ mojo is back!

3 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #48”

  1. dokucug June 23, 2013 at 8:27 AM #

    I love this story! And how cool that this pattern is actually a uniform! It is a great shirtdress pattern!

    I’m so excited for you that you’ve got something on your sewing table at last! Can’t wait to see what it is!

    • eileensbasement June 23, 2013 at 8:34 AM #

      I’m pretty excited too. I have SEVEN things all planned out for my upcoming “Summer of Separates” series. And one of them even uses some fabric I bought on my trip with you!

  2. Paige (@thepaigey) June 27, 2013 at 8:16 AM #

    I grew up on a farm and did Rabbit Shows in 4-h! Although our uniforms were much uglier!

Leave a Reply

