Passing it On

20 Aug

I always imagined that when I had a daughter we would spend hours crafting together and it would be all sunshine and lollipops. Up until the present it has been anything but. My daughter is VERY concerned about what her Momma thinks and any comment that corrects her makes her freeze up which sucks any fun out of the project in question. Lately though, this has been changing as she realizes that I’m just trying to help her learn how to do things the correct way (aka MY way ;) and we were recently able to make a Barbie dress! Huzzah!

SAMSUNG

SAMSUNG

We used scraps of the pretty print lawn that I used to make this blouse and a Vogue pattern that I picked up ages ago for just this moment which features Barbie clothes inspired by the 1940s! How perfect is that?

Barbie patternWe had a lot of fun making this dress and I had a lot of fun teaching her about fabric grain, the importance of seam allowances and not striving for “perfect.” I look forward to sewing the rest of the outfits with her soon!

Eileen

One Response to “Passing it On”

  1. dokucug August 21, 2013 at 10:08 AM #

    Awwww, she looks just like you! So pretty! I love it that you finally got to do some sewing with your girl!

Leave a Reply

