Homesteading and Hairstyles

25 Aug

ImageImageImageImageImage

It has been a summer of wonders. Eggs are coming in regularly now. The awesomeness of going out to the barn and gathering breakfast has yet to wear off. We have not found any with double-yolks, but we have found eggs of all manner of shapes and sizes.

The sheep are doing well. We unfortunately lost one, Hemingway, in early July. It’s hard to talk about because I feel like my own ignorance is the cause of the loss. See, unlike people, when they get a cold sheep do not “just get over it.” No, the solution is rounds of antibiotics. I learned this too late to save poor Hemingway and my husband buried him on Independence Day. Hub clipped some of his wool for me to remember him by.

I signed up for a home butchering class and took one of our nine roosters with me. He was a beautiful boy and had a wonderful chicken life. It was not easy to do but I didn’t take it lightly. I very nearly cried but found that I could with good conscious still eat meat. That’s the hub above ready to carve. He tasted as my friend said “of happiness and freedom.” Tomorrow the rest of the roosters will join him. We will then have a total of thirteen chickens in all. Eleven hens and two roosters.

Finally, I cut my hair! The last time I cut “Bettie Page” bangs, I hated them due to my silly cowlick. However, my new hairdresser assured me that she could show me how to beat that bad ol’ cowlick and I think they look pretty good! I’m very happy, I hadn’t cut my hair in over two years and it was very overdue!

I hope you are all having a great summer!

Eileen

4 Responses to “Homesteading and Hairstyles”

  1. Stephanie August 26, 2013 at 7:31 AM #

    Eeep! Your bangs look so cute! :D

    • eileensbasement August 27, 2013 at 6:19 PM #

      Thanks, I’m super happy with them! For once in my life :p

  2. Tiffany August 26, 2013 at 3:42 PM #

    Great blog. Poor Hemmingway :(

Leave a Reply

