The Lost Weekend*

28 Apr

Hey peeps! Dropped off the blogosphere there to take a weekend trip with the Hub. We celebrated nine years o’ wedded bliss this past Saturday. My super generous friend watched our kiddos and farm animals for the weekend while we headed off to a lovely little cabin nestled in the Hocking Hills of Ohio.

When my friend first told me about this place he said, “You’ll never believe this place is in Ohio!” and he sure wasn’t kidding. There were woods, rolling hills, twisty roads, hiking trails, caves and generally nature galore. It made me nostalgic for my home state of California! Here are a few pictures of some of the natural beauty that surrounded us:

This was at Old Man's Cave

This was at Old Man’s Cave

The view from the deck of our cabin

The view from the deck of our cabin

Ash Cave was super impressive with its waterfall

Ash Cave was super impressive with its waterfall

The scenery was just amazing.

The scenery was just amazing.

But we don’t want to see NATURE stuff do we?? In the area there was a plethora of antique malls and so when we weren’t hiking or eating or partaking inĀ  . . . other activities we were antiquing.

The first night we were there I found the most amazing lady head vase to add to my collection. I’ve never seen one like her before.

Such a fetching little face

Such a fetching little face

I think her fan and mantilla are so interesting

I think her fan and mantilla are so interesting

Close up of the artistry; look at the lace detail!

Close up of the artistry; look at the lace detail!

Isn’t she amazing? I’m trying to find ANY information on her. She IS marked on the bottom with what looks like a T M and the numbers 5-28. I’d love it if anyone has any idea who painted her or any of her story. I would have gladly paid $50 for her, but I got her for a steal at $5 and could NOT believe my luck. She is now the crown jewel in my steadily growing lady’s head vase collection.

All the single ladies, all the single ladies . . . .

All the single ladies, all the single ladies . . . .

In the same antique store I found a cache of pretty vintage buttons all on their original cards. These are destined for a shadow box which will one day grace whichever room ends up being my sewing room.

Which is your favorite?

Which is your favorite?

Finally they had a glassware outlet that had Homer Laughlin Fiesta ware at deep, DEEP discounts. I’m not even kidding. I got a platter and veggie bowl that matches my now discontinued Flamingo set (not pictured), and I this pitcher that I’ve had my eye on forever but could not justify the $60 price tag. This one cost me $11. No joke!

Red Fiesta Jug

Red Fiesta Jug

Doesn’t it look gay there on the Sellers Cabinet?? Can you folks believe how good the vintage hunting is here in Ohio? Seriously, it’s the best state that I’ve lived in for it and I’ve lived in more states than most folks (California, Texas, Florida and Ohio for those of you wondering). Seriously the best finds for the lowest prices.

Hope ya’ll had a great weekend and here is a picture of the Hubs well, just because I think he’s a cutie. It’s been a grand nine years and I’m hoping for nine times nine more!

Whatta face!

Whatta face!

TTFN!

Eileen

*Extra points if you have seen this film with a perhaps overly tidy ending!

4 Responses to “The Lost Weekend*”

  1. Stephanie April 28, 2014 at 10:03 PM #

    Congrats on your anniversary! :D the hubby and I are celebrating 5 years in a few weeks.

    • eileensbasement April 29, 2014 at 6:51 AM #

      Congrats to you as well! Five is a milestone. Hope you have fun plans. We went to Miami for our fifth and that’s when Hub bought me a banjo. It was a good one!

  2. dokucug April 29, 2014 at 8:04 AM #

    Happy anniversary! He is a cutie :-)

    I’ve heard of the Hocking Hills – really hope to get there some day!

    • eileensbasement April 30, 2014 at 4:39 PM #

      Thanks! It was a very inexpensive trip. Ya’ll could drive there in a day; I definitely recommend it.

Leave a Reply

