The Girl Wore a Blue Dress

5 May

Hi!

Some of you may remember when I became enamored with this picture:

 

Image

I finally finished it up in January; you know, just in time for those -18 temps that we had here in the Midwest, but I was finally able to wear it to work about a month ago. Sorry for the crappy phone pictures and the lovely “government bathroom” background but it was the best I could do. It’s been so rainy and gloomy lately that whenever it is nice out, I have stuff to do in the barn/outside and I’m wearing work clothes so throwing on a dress is the last thing I do!

Side View

Side View

SAMSUNG

Front view

I had planned to try to re-creat the chic model above but these silly work bathroom photos will have to do instead. I used the pattern that I posted in the linked post above, Simplicity 5022. The color isn’t EXACTLY like the one in the original photo, but it’s close enough and I’m pleased with it. The fabric is just a basic cotton broadcloth that I think I picked up at Joann’s or Hancock’s shortly after I saw the photo. I did make a self fabric belt which I think is great and really ties the outfit together.

Here it is May and I have still only worn this dress the one time. It’s just been too cold for thin cotton sundresses. I know I’m going on about the weather like an old person, but I can’t help it, I’m ready for SUMMER!

Eileen

4 Responses to “The Girl Wore a Blue Dress”

  1. chris May 5, 2014 at 9:14 PM #

    Oh that dress is the best! I love the little collar and the skirt – just the whole thing!

    • eileensbasement May 6, 2014 at 5:49 AM #

      Thank you ma’am! Wish I had better photos. What’s with this weather? haha, and there I go again about the weather!

  2. Randi May 6, 2014 at 10:13 PM #

    What a gorgeous color and sweet dress, perfect for spring and summer. Hoping the warm weather finds you soon, it’s about time!

    • eileensbasement May 7, 2014 at 7:46 AM #

      Thank you! Today is supposed to be in the ’80s but cloudy. I’ll take it!

Leave a Reply

