The Crazy Chicken Lady

16 May

They say the first step to solving a problem is admitting that you have a problem in the first place. Hi, I’m Eileen, and I’m a crazy chicken lady.

When I first brought home the first batch of a dozen little fluff balls, little did I imagine that a short year later they would have multiplied, through purchases and natural means, to the point where we nearly have thirty, yes thirty total chickens!*

Aww they were so little!

Aww they were so little!

I have to say I have thoroughly enjoyed keeping chickens. If you’ve not been around them, they really are delightful creatures. I am now to the point where I can distinguish between different clucks and noises they make; they range from “Hey! I just laid an egg” to “back off lady, this is MY worm.” See? I’m crazy about chickens.

All the single ladies  . . .

All the single ladies . . .

They’re also delightful to watch scritch and scratch in the barnyard. Sometimes, when the rooster is particularly interested in a lady, he will do the funniest dance that makes me think of a rooster tango. He’ll also alert the girls when he’s found a little tidbit that is particularly interesting to eat to win their favor.

The fullness of my craze became apparent when I found that one little hen was particularly popular with the menfolk, of which I had three total. I say had because we sent two of the three to “freezer camp” a few weekends ago, and the barnyard has been much more peaceful since then. But I digress, so this hen was popular to the point where her back was basically cut open because of all the mating going on. We separated the poor dear and then I did something that solidified my status as crazy chicken lady. I sewed what’s called a chicken saddle for the girl so that the rooster’s spurs would no longer hurt her. You read that right; I sewed for a chicken. We then treated her wound and put the saddle on her. I wish I could say that I had a picture of this, but the durn girl kept running from me after her traumatizing experience and I failed to get anything but a blurry hen running from me so you’ll have to¬† be content with the saddle itself. If you want to see what it looks like when a hen is wearing one, just give “chicken saddle” a google. Go ahead, I’ll wait. Funny stuff, right?

 

If sewing for chickens doesn’t make one a crazy chicken lady I’m not sure what does! Funnily enough, I’m contemplating sewing blankets for my sheep to keep veggie matter out of their wool after I shear them in a few weeks! So just go ahead and add crazy sheep lady to the list as well.

Let me know folks, have any of you sewn for any barnyard animals?

Eileen

*Our hen Amelia is currently sitting on a whole batch of eggs so this number is set to increase soon. She is the only hen at all interested in being a Mother so we just let her do her thing. It’s pretty adorable actually.

4 Responses to “The Crazy Chicken Lady”

  1. dokucug May 16, 2014 at 7:59 AM #

    Hilarious! They are so sweet as little fluffballs :-)

    • eileensbasement May 18, 2014 at 7:30 AM #

      They really are. Shortly after this stage, they enter their awkward teenage years and they look hilarious with little pinfeathers sticking out of their fluff all over! These guys are much bigger now; I’ll have to take some newer pictures when I get a chance.

  2. Stefanie May 16, 2014 at 1:54 PM #

    He He He, this post just made my day! Thanks for the smiles!

Leave a Reply

