The Great Coat Sew-Along

8 Sep

Blogging has been something that I’ve tried a few times.  Both times I was extremely sporadic. They say that the third time’s the charm so I’m hoping this will hold true for blogging as well.

The impetus for starting this blog was Gertie’s Lady Grey Coat Sew-Along. Frankly, I’m tired of sitting on the sidelines and letting everyone else have all the fun!

For this project, after much hemming and hawing over fabric and lining choices I’ve finally settled on my choices. I’d like to make this coat a wardrobe staple. This, coupled with the local tropical climate, led me to choose a black wool gabardine:

Exciting Aren't I?

I decided that I’d like a lining with an unexpected pop of color so I chose this lovely silk crepe in a mint green:

Mmm Minty!

Tomorrow I plan to use a coupon to buy some cheaper wool gab for my muslin. I’m very excited about this sew-a-long and I’m very excited to be blogging again. Now if I could just figure out how to add the button to my sidebar, I’d be good to go!

2 Responses to “The Great Coat Sew-Along”

  1. Casey September 9, 2010 at 8:09 AM #

    I love the color combination–so you! 😉 I think I’m going to go with a peachy pink for my lining–I just need my wool gab to hurry up and get here! lol.

    Oh, and about adding the button to the sidebar: on your WordPress.com dashboard under the “appearance” toggle menu, there is the “widget” page. You should be able to add image/link html to a “text” widget box, and add that to your sidebar! (I can show you how this evening if you’d like–it’d only take two seconds!)

    ♥ Casey
    blog | elegantmusings.com

    • eileensbasement September 9, 2010 at 6:19 PM #

      It is very me. I tried to be less predictable and attempted to do Camel wool with a pink lining but it wasn’t meant to be.

      Thanks for the tip on the sidebar button! I’ll go try it right now.

Leave a Reply

