A Reason to Dress Up

11 Sep

About a month ago I received a text message from my little brother. “Can I  call you? I have something to tell you,” it read. My first thought was that it was going to be bad news. I was pleased to find out that it was a double dose of good news- he joined the Air Force (following in my footsteps) and was going to get married!

For the sewist any chance to dress up is good news indeed.  I immediately knew what fabric and pattern I was going to use. Anyone who knows me well knows that this is somewhat of an anomaly. I tend to agonize over the pairing of patterns and fabrics since there’s such an endless array of choices!

The pattern I chose is the very pretty Simplicity 1435, loaned to me by none other than Casey! (Thanks again!)

I made the one on the left.

For the fabric I used a lovely vintage rayon in a pale gray with a motif featuring yellow roses and white handkerchief detail. I love vintage rayon. It’s amazingly light and airy which is wonderful for the hot and humid Florida clime. It has beautiful drape as well.

As with most vintage patterns I sew, I had to add an inch of length to the bodice as well as width at the waist and hips. I’m a  tall classic pear shape so these are my usual alterations. I think the end result is lovely, what do you think?

I love it so much, I'm wearing it now!

Full-length View

3 Responses to “A Reason to Dress Up”

  1. Debi September 12, 2010 at 5:23 AM #

    LOVE this dress! the fabric is amazing and it looks great on you!

    • eileensbasement September 12, 2010 at 12:22 PM #

      Thanks Debi! I saved a bit of the fabric that I’ll soon scan for anyone to reproduce if they’d like.

  2. Casey September 13, 2010 at 6:30 PM #

    I love how your version turned out!!! Nothing beats a sassy keyhole neckline and a pretty print to make heads turn! 😉

Leave a Reply

