What I’m Sewing Wednesday

15 Sep

One gap in my vintage wardrobe that I’ve identified is that of “in-between” dresses. I have plenty of dresses that are very dressy and just as many informal dresses but nothing that is right smack in the middle. Enter Vogue 8353 (on clearance now on the Vogue site!).

The Details ARE Divine

I think this dress will be one that I can accessorize  and look vintage or can throw a blazer over the top, add red pumps and wear to work!

I have a habit of being very inspired by the pictures on pattern envelopes to the point where I’ll track down the exact or very similar fabric to the pattern. For this I’m using . . . you guessed it, 1″ checked gingham! I started it on Sunday and so far, despite the fiddly cutting out of this fabric, it’s been a pretty easy sew and I’m nearly done.  I originally opted to omit the lace panel. However, a lack of material forced me to cut this shorter than I like so I’ll probably end up doing it to add length to the hem. Currently, it hits even with the top of my knee which is not too good for the vintage look that I like. What do you think of the lace panel?

ETA: Well I guess I won’t have to worry about the lace or the shortness of the skirt. As I was serging the seams, the skirt got caught in the cutters and there is now a huge, irreparable hole in the skirt!  I might cut it short and make a top out of it but it might look a little funny. To cheer myself up, I bought this:

I feel somewhat better.

2 Responses to “What I’m Sewing Wednesday”

  1. Casey September 16, 2010 at 6:53 AM #

    Ack! So sorry to hear about the serger eating your fabric! 😦 That pattern is really cute though–I love the silhouette.

    That new pattern is adorable too–Dubarry patterns from the late 30s are always the best, imho! 😉

    ♥ Casey
    blog | elegantmusings.com

    • eileensbasement September 16, 2010 at 5:18 PM #

      It’s my own fault for being in a rush. I should have pinned the fabric before I serged it. No worries, we’re going to be starting coat muslins right? Right.

      I wholeheartedly agree with your assessment of the late 30s DuBarry’s. What a fun time for fashion.

Leave a Reply

