Fall in a Summer Clime Part Deux

23 Sep

It seems that Fall is in the air in blogland. This week Casey shared her lovely Fall inspiration and  Debi posted some great 1940s Fall Color Palettes. Last week I posted  the beginning of my Fall sewing plans. I’m just going to pick back up from where I left off!

Aren't you glad we can wear trousers outside the comfort of our own homes now?

One thing I’m woefully short of is plain ol’ trousers. I have the hardest time finding a pair that fit properly as there is a ten inch difference between my waist measurement and hip circumference. This means, if I find a pair that fits in the waist, chances are, I can’t get it past my thighs. If they fit in the thighs, the waist will most likely be gaping! This Fall I’m determined to put an end to this and learn proper trouser fitting once and for all. While I like the pattern above quite a bit and bought it because the picture reminded me of Katherine Hepburn, I think I’ll be better off starting this project with a modern pattern. I’ve got several Vogues that would fit the bill.

Here in Florida, it isn’t all that often that coats are donned in the Winter unless you’ve lived here for a while and your “blood has thinned” as the locals say. I’ve still not lived here long enough I guess because usually a cardigan or sweater coat will suffice for me. I’m thinking of adding this little cutie to the “to knit” list:

Long Sleeve, Short Sleeves and Sweaters- oh my!

I love the ribbing and the yoke detail! I’m thinking of knitting this up in a heathered forest green, deep mauve or lipstick red. Hmm, decisions, decisions.

While we’re on the subject of knitting I ordered yarn to knit up the Joan Crawford sweater. I’ve got a beautiful wool/silk blend in a pretty pearl grey with this pattern in mind.

But, I digress! We were discussing sewing weren’t we?? Up next is something really special. While not exactly fall garb, this little number will have to be started in the fall. My company has an annual Christmas party and I’ll be making this up for the occasion. Better start working out for sure!

Why Yes, This IS the Most Gorgeous Pattern You've Ever Seen

And last, but certainly not least, many of my warmer pyjamas I’ve pretty much worn to death so it is my intent to replace them with vintage ones!

I can't bear to look at you

I plan to make the little pantsuit on the left. I’ve already plotted the colors, for the top, white, and the bottom, navy blue. Fabulous!

That about wraps it up! As a refresher, I’ve got a boxy jacket, a plaid skirt, a wool jersey dress with sweetheart neckline and bracelet sleeves, pants, sweaters, fancy dress and pjs! Guess I better get to work and I’ll keep you posted on my progress. Thanks for reading!

9 Responses to “Fall in a Summer Clime Part Deux”

  1. janna September 23, 2010 at 9:10 PM #

    Hi, Eileen!

    I love that Joan Crawford sweater, too – it will look great on you!

  2. Debi September 24, 2010 at 8:11 AM #

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE your sewing plans….I especially love the Christmas party dress and the PJ’s–oh how I love that pantsuit!!!! that is going to be so much fun to make!!

    • eileensbasement September 24, 2010 at 8:21 PM #

      Thanks, I loved yours as well, especially that AMAZING coat!

  3. Casey September 29, 2010 at 7:54 AM #

    I’m loving all your picks for fall! 😀 I think the pants will be an excellent project to tackle; finding a pattern that fits “just” right is always a bit of a hassle, but so worth it in the end (because that means you don’t have to bother trying to find them in the stores anymore! Yay!). I am going to try and get to work on some late 40s/50s jeans late next month. We should do a pants sew-along. 😉

    I cannot wait to see your version of the Crawford sweater!!! That has been on my to-knit list for ages, and I love the lines. It’s going to look smashing on you!

    ♥ Casey
    blog | elegantmusings.com

    • eileensbasement September 29, 2010 at 5:31 PM #

      Thanks Casey! I agree, getting the pants fitting thing down would be wonderful. I’m going to check out “Pants for Real People” when I’m ready to see what they recommend. I would love to do a jeans sew along! Count me in!

  4. Nancy November 19, 2010 at 12:24 PM #

    Oh wow. What is the pattern number on that Vogue Special Design? Or are there any types of patterns you’re looking for where we could do a copying exchange (I really have tons)? That dress is so amazing!

    • eileensbasement November 20, 2010 at 8:55 AM #

      Unfortunately, the pattern number was torn off the corner- boo! But, Vogue’s Vintage Designs did a re-print of this pattern (which I didn’t find out until AFTER I’d purchased!) that can still be found for around $12. I am interested in tracing exchanges though 🙂 I’ve got a pretty extensive collection as well. Let me know!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. October Over and Out « Eileen's Basement - November 2, 2010

    […] now we turn to November. I’d like to start knocking out some of my Fall wardrobe plans soon! Also, I need to take stock of who I’m buying Christmas presents for and who I’m […]

Leave a Reply

