Lady Grey Muslin

26 Sep

My main focus on this too-short weekend (how is it Sunday afternoon already??) was to finish my Lady Grey muslin. Friday night I finished thread tracing my seam lines. Saturday morning I began to baste it together and today I finished what I’d started the day before.

It became immediately apparent that I should have performed my standard shoulder adjustment to the tissue pattern before I cut from the fabric as I had a difficult time just putting the muslin on! I had to sew within 1/4 of the shoulder seams to be able to put it on with any ease in the shoulder area and it still feels really tight.  I added shoulder pads to give the shoulder line some added definition.

Well here’s the photographic evidence:

Please don't mind the major "gaposis" at the neckline.

Wow, really wrinkly!

Yikes, the back looks terrible! I consulted Fit for Real People and  it seems that those vertical wrinkles point to a narrow back.  I’ll take it in a little at center back. There are some smaller horizontal wrinkles at the waist which suggest that I should give myself more room there *sigh.* I still go back to my lack of adding my standard shoulder adjustment and think that could have a lot to do with it and would alleviate many of those problem wrinkles.

Here are the side views. You can see here just how much gape I have in the chest area. This is the result of an extremely flat bust!

To fix this, I’m going to pin out the excess a la Gertie. Also, looking at these pictures, it’s become painfully obvious that I need to add some length to the back of the coat to accommodate my rather prominent derriere.

Looks like I’ve got a bit of work ahead of me before this is perfect. To save time, I’ll make the adjustments to the tissue and tissue fit. I don’t want to get left behind in the sew-a-long! I’d do it tonight only this morning I began sneezing and it’s become painfully obvious that I’m either suffering from a terrible allergy attack or I’m coming down with a cold. Unfortunately I think it’s the latter.

Thanks for reading- if you have any suggestions for me, I’d love to hear them!

2 Responses to “Lady Grey Muslin”

  1. Betty September 26, 2010 at 9:08 PM #

    Love it! Very elegant! I only wish I could sew as well as you. Glad you’ve started a site. I usually check out your fb for pics of clothes you’ve made.

    • eileensbasement September 27, 2010 at 8:05 PM #

      Thanks Betty! This is the “trial” version where I try it out in a cheap fabric before I cut into the expensive stuff. I’ve still got a lot to learn, that’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

