Muslin Woes

28 Sep

I’m having an amazing amount of trouble with my Lady Grey Muslin (see previous post) particularly with the back. I sloped the shoulders downward from the neck to the shoulder and deepened the armhole. I took in 1/4 inches on the princess seams. But now the dang thing looks like this!

Actually, it doesn't look TOO bad!

I’m getting there, but it’s slow and steady, that’s for sure. I had a few nice people in the Flickr group point out that I may need to do a swayback adjustment. I’llΒ  give it a try and see if that helps!

As a parting shot here is the same as above, only with a sweater underneath which is what I assume I’ll be wearing if I’ve got a coat on! It looks a lot worse than with the blouse above.

Now the waist is too tight! Oy vey.

Hmm. Clearly I’ve got some work ahead. Wish me luck and any helpful suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

3 Responses to “Muslin Woes”

  1. Casey September 29, 2010 at 7:52 AM #

    (Finally catching up on my blog feeds today! So sorry if this is a little late in the game… πŸ˜‰

    Looks like you’re having some similar fitting issues that I’m having! I definitely am finding that the shoulder/armhole area is wonky on me. (So maybe we do need to have a “muslin date” this weekend?! πŸ˜‰ This muslin is definitely looking a lot better. Just remember with the muslin over the sweater that the final coat will have a lot more weight and lay differently! πŸ˜‰

    I think you’re doing a good job diagnosing and fixing the problems though. I definitely need to add Fit for Real People to my shelves (I have some other fitting books, but they aren’t as comprehensive)!

    β™₯ Casey
    blog | elegantmusings.com

  2. dustbunnys September 29, 2010 at 11:44 AM #

    I’m here! Great blog, and I love seeing your sewing and anticipated projects. You and Casey are really inspiring me to get out the machine, give it a good oiling and get sewing.

    Horrors when your serger ate the fabric…oh no!

    Later, gator!

Leave a Reply

