Happy October!

1 Oct

October has to be one of my favorite months. The weather turns cool, the humidity dissipates and most importantly, I start planning my Hallowe’en costume! Yes, my friends. Hallowe’en is my absolute, hands down, FAVORITE holiday. I trick-or-treated until I was 18 because I did not want to let the magic go.

In fact, it is Hallowe’en that prompted my first for-real use of a sewing machine. For my fifteenth Hallowe’en I decided I would be Queen Elizabeth I. I believe this was shortly after Shakespeare in Love had come out.  Up to this point Mom had always made my costumes but this year she saw her home business flourish while her available time diminished. I got a very basic quick and dirty sewing tutorial and then I was on my own. And you know what? The costume turned out okay! This is pretty amazing considering that I basically disregarded proper pattern sizing, seam allowances and other sewing basics. But, I digress!

Another reason I always loved Hallowe’en because it was a time where I could dress up and play at being something other than I am. The majority of my costumes have been vintage-related; I’ve been Betty Boop, a flapper, Scarlett O’Hara and last year’s costume was Rosie the Riveter.

We Can Do It!

For this costume I did a ton of research on real “Rosies.” I also learned that the iconic poster that we see when we think of Rosie the Riveter is actually not the correct one. “Rosie the Riveter” was the title of a cover done for the Saturday Evening Post by iconic American painter Norman Rockwell. I drew my inspiration from both works. Note the buttons on the bib of the Norman Rockwell Rosie;  I hunted down actual WWII pins on eBay that “Rosies” would have worn on their overalls. I managed to win a Red Cross pin, an “E” award pin, an Army Air Corps (before the Air Force) sweetheart pin, and my particular favorite- the “V for Victory” pin. I bought an original Coleman lunchbox complete with thermos so I’d have the proper vintage props as well. I don’t mess around when it comes to my costumes!

It should come as no surprise then that I’ve been happily plotting my costume for this year. My daughter has also kindly put in her request for a costume and has provided me with a lovely drawing of how she expects it to look! As for my costume, well you’ll just have to wait and see. I’m keeping SILENT about it for now. Stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Happy October!”

  1. Tobey October 2, 2010 at 10:33 AM #

    Oh, I can’t wait to see what you come up with this year. Last Year’s Rosie was marvelous, the pins and lunch box added just the right touch of authenticity.

    Can you spill just a bit on your daughter’s costume?

    How is the muslin going?

    • eileensbasement October 2, 2010 at 2:02 PM #

      Hey Tobey! Muslin woes are finally straightened out. I’ll be cutting the fashion fabric today 🙂 Colleen’s dress is no secret- she’ll be Belle from Beauty and the Beast.

Leave a Reply

