Better to Look Marvelous than to Feel Marvelous*

4 Oct

The title quote is something my Mom used to say when I was an over-emotional teen and felt like my life was over over some minor crisis or another. She said it with more than a touch of tongue in cheek but she was right. If I’d been hurt by some silly boy or another, this saying would inspire me to put on my best outfit, spruce myself up and proceed as if nothing had happened. I think essentially this little saying helped me to project an outward confidence and has helped me numerous times throughout my life, silly as it seems.

I had a rough day this past Friday so when I awoke Saturday, I was determined to change that. My daughter kindly reminded me that there were only 29 more days to finish her Hallowe’en costume (not to mention mine and work on the Lady Grey must continue per schedule!) We headed out to the best local fabric store to gather supplies.

I decided to look marvelous:

MAH-velous!

I LOVE this outfit. Thisย  set is one that I’m most proud of. I wore it to the fabric store because every time I go in there they fuss at me for not wearing the creations I make from the fabric I buy. This is a vintage Hollywood pattern again borrowed from the lovely Casey. (I’ve noticed that I seem to immediately sew things from patterns I borrow, yet neglect my lovlies. Must be a case of the grass being greener eh?) Anywho, here’s the pattern:

Vintage Patterns: Invisible furniture and midgets!

I made the skirt and bolero out of a striking coral tropical wool (this is Florida after all!). Fitting the skirt, I discovered that the wool was so thin, it’s see through so I lined it with a lighter shade of coral bemberg rayon lining. I lined the bolero, my first time “bagging a lining,” with the same. The blouse is a lightweight cotton lawn- and oh my goodness, did it take a lot of hand work! The hem of the neckline, bow and collar are all hand-rolled hems. I hand-rolled the armholes as well.

Who couldn’t cheer up wearing an outfit like this? My daughter and I enjoyed some great Mommy-daughter bonding and I fell in love with (and purchased) a beautiful chartreuse wool which is destined to be this dress. Afterward, we enjoyed “high tea” at a local tea house and had fun trying on the vintage hats they had scattered about for customers to put on to fancy themselves up. Thanks Mom, though you’re gone, your words of wisdom will always stay with me.

6 Responses to “Better to Look Marvelous than to Feel Marvelous*”

  1. Debi October 5, 2010 at 2:08 AM #

    Sorry to hear about your bad day last Friday but boy, did you pick yourself up and you LOOKED amazing! I absolutely love the dress you made from the Hollywood pattern! And I can’t wait to see the chartreuse dress!

    • eileensbasement October 5, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

      Thanks Debi! I think the chartreuse dress will be a November project. It’s too funny, since I’ve finished school, I really wonder where I found the time to do it since I feel like I have no time now! Right now I’m working on the Lady Grey, my Hallowe’en costume, and my daughter’s Hallowe’en costume. Pshew!

  2. Eithne October 5, 2010 at 8:44 AM #

    I just recently found your blog through casey’s musings and I love your knitting & sewing creations. You look fantastic in this outfit and I’d love to see more of what you’ve made.

    • eileensbasement October 5, 2010 at 6:12 PM #

      Thank you, that was really sweet of her to add me to her site! I’ve been sewing vintage for a few years now so I’m thinking I’ll have plenty of things to show you in future posts ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Casey October 7, 2010 at 6:32 AM #

    I can’t wait to see that pattern made up in the green wool!! It’s going to be amazing! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I know I said it before, but that entire outfit is a knock-out!

    โ™ฅ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement October 7, 2010 at 7:32 AM #

      I received the patter in the mail today- it’s a loan from the VPLL but now I want to keep it! I’d love to make it immediately, but October’s crazy.

      Thanks, you had a hand in it. I wouldn’t have bought the wool if you hadn’t encouraged me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

