Thrifty Finds!

6 Oct

After a delicious lunch at Five Guys (hamburgers! fries! cherry coke!) on my lunch hour, I decided to quickly pop into the Thrift shop located nearby. I sure am glad that I did!!

I headed straight to the menswear section in search of the perfect tweed suit to take apart to make my aforementioned Fall Suit. I found something completely unexpected!

I was drawn to this coat’s fabric. I originally expected it to be a wool flannel. Imagine my surprise to see the tag inside:

 

It's kind of a big deal

 

Camel hair! It is unbelievably soft! Lucky for me, the man that owned this was rather large so I have plenty of fabric for when I unpick the hems and make it into a coat for me (cue evil laughter).

But wait! There’s more . . . I sauntered over to the book section to see if I could find any vintage craft books and I found this:

Unfortunately, someone at the store scrawled the book’s price right on the cloth cover but since it only cost a whopping total of eighty cents I guess I’ll forgive them.

They’ve got all their Hallowe’en costumes out for sale now too and I scored a Ninja Turtle costume for my four-year old. We recently let him watch the original live-action movie and he’s been a turtle battling the evil Foot Clan ever since.

 

It's hard work keeping the living room safe.

 

All this for a grand total of $11! I love thrifting!

3 Responses to “Thrifty Finds!”

  1. Debi October 7, 2010 at 1:49 AM #

    AWESOME finds! Can’t wait to see the refashions!!

  2. Casey October 7, 2010 at 6:27 AM #

    Yay for thrifty finds!!! 😀 I can’t wait to see what you remake that camel coat into…

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • Tobey October 7, 2010 at 9:06 PM #

      Oh, so jealous of the camel coat! that will be a lovely suit.

Leave a Reply

