Get This Hairstyle!

8 Oct

 

My hair was really co-operating!

 

 

Could be neater but you get the drift!

 

One consistent thought when I’m watching movies from the Thirties and Forties  is “How did they get their hair to do that!?” I’ve puzzled over the hairstyle above for quite a while.  It’s one I’ve always loved- some sort of wave or roll to the front of the hair paired with a roll that encircles the head. It’s one I see a lot on Joan Crawford.

Recently, I had the good fortune to  stumble upon an auction that answered my burning question. It was  a hair rat that basically looks like a hair net stuffed with hair (I try not to think about it, but I think that’s real human hair!) with both ends attached to a thin brown cord. The rat is placed on the crown of the head and the hair is brought up and pinned around the roll. I thought I’d do a tutorial this weekend for those of you out there who don’t want to shell out the money I did to win this baby! The best part is that making a similar rat would be very inexpensive- under five dollars. You read that right, you can make your own hair roll and get an authentic vintage do all for under five dollars. Stay tuned!

4 Responses to “Get This Hairstyle!”

  1. Debi October 8, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    Oh yes! Do a tutorial! Your hair looks stunning!!! I’ve been thinking about hair rats (heheheh that sounds funny)….but it seems like a very useful thing to have to recreate some period hairstyles!

    • eileensbasement October 9, 2010 at 8:12 AM #

      Hi there Debi,thanks for the compliment. You should have seen some of the looks I got when I wore it out!

      I hope to post a tutorial on how to make the rat and how to do the hairstyle by Sunday. Also, congrats on the new job!

  2. Casey October 11, 2010 at 7:51 AM #

    Oooh! Can’t wait to see the tutorial (when you get to it–just saw your newer post too! Hope you feel better!!!). I’ve been itching to try something similar for a long time…

    ♥ Casey | blog

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Sorry for the Delay! « Eileen's Basement - October 10, 2010

    […] had every intention of posting my hair tutorial today but a terrible allergy attack has left me drained and tired.  Hopefully I’ll be able […]

Leave a Reply

