October Stitching Status Updates

18 Oct

This month has been little more than a blur for me. Between the TWO babies due this month that I decided MUST receive hand made gifts, Hallowe’en costumes and Coat Sew-A-Longs, I’ve had little time to look up from my sewing machine/ knitting needles!

Baby Sweater Status: one of two baby sweaters are complete. Baby sweater number two is about 60% finished.

Pattern: Rufus Textured Cardigan from "Vintage Baby Knits"

Hallowe’en costume status: My daughter’s “Belle” costume is finished. I’ll post a pic when we take them on Hallowe’en. My costume is still uncut fabric and a pattern but I hope to change that by this weekend. I’m keeping mum on what I’m going to be for a big reveal Hallowe’en post so stay tuned.

Lady Grey Status: I’m a little behind on this one. I’ve finally finished the pad-stitching on the lapels. I was surprised by how much fun I had doing this. To quote Gertie, it really was a magical process.  I kept flipping the lapel over to admire the little roll that formed under my stitches. I only ran into one difficulty with this. I’m using a thin wool gabardine as my fabric so I had to be extra careful and only catch one little bit of the gab so my stitches would not show through.

You can clearly tell which was the first one stiched!

Tonight I’ll be eating brinner (breakfast for dinner) and watching old movies while attempting to finish knitting the baby sweater for baby number two- who, luckily for me, does not seem to be in any hurry to arrive seeing as how his due date is today.  How’s your October coming along? Is it just me, or does October typically usher in the beginnings of holiday craziness?

4 Responses to “October Stitching Status Updates”

  1. Casey October 18, 2010 at 6:12 PM #

    Sounds like October has been crazy for both of us! The baby sweater is so darling!!!

    Whew–I’m glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t gotten beyond the lapel pad stitching either; I don’t think I’ll be able to get any further on my jacket until next week, sadly. :/

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement October 19, 2010 at 4:57 PM #

      Yes ma’am, and it’s only going to get crazier with the holidays coming up.

      Good luck with your dress- I’ll be working on the coat this week and working on my Hallowe’en costume this weekend. I just hope I can finish!

  2. Debi October 19, 2010 at 12:49 AM #

    Love the baby sweater! So cute!! I haven’t even bought my coat fabric yet—ooops 🙂

    • eileensbasement October 19, 2010 at 4:58 PM #

      Thanks, it was a quick and fun little knit.

      Ha! There’s still time 😉 I’m definitely lagging behind on it but I think it’s understandable.

Leave a Reply

