In Which Patience is a Virtue.

20 Oct

It all started when Debi posted about her coat for the sew-a-long. She posted what is possibly the most beautiful coat pattern I’ve ever seen. Everything about it spoke to me; the princess seams, the side-tie, the two fur collar options. What’s not to love? I frantically trolled the web for any possibility to purchase the pattern. No luck.

And this is where patience comes in. Patience, sorry to say, is not something I’m particularly well-known for. I’m something of an “instant gratification is too LATE” kind of gal. I employed my favorite tactic to obtain this dream coat pattern. This means that I plugged the pattern name and number into Google Alerts. And then I waited. And waited. I waited for what seemed like an age, but judging from when Debi posted her pattern I see it was little over a month and a half! Night after last, I heard my tell-tale email ping on my phone and sure enough- the pattern had been listed on Etsy. With shaking hands and pounding heart I placed it in my cart and committed to buy, hoping all the while that it would not be snapped up by another. Have you been here before?? It’s nerve-wracking to say the least!

At last, victory is mine!

The Coat that Launched a Thousand Ships

I’m envisioning it in a lovely Loden Green with a deep chocolate vintage fur collar. I like the collar on the right the most of all. Sigh! Happiness- thy name is McCall 3941.

6 Responses to “In Which Patience is a Virtue.”

  1. Debi October 21, 2010 at 1:11 AM #

    YIPPPEEEE! Oh, I am sooo glad you got it! Isn’t it a dream? I love the side closure!! I probably wont get to making mine until January but I’m so glad you have it too (we can do a mini sew-along) 🙂 YAY!

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2010 at 5:29 PM #

      What a great suggestion, that would be so much fun! Plus, it just starts getting cold here in Florida at that time 🙂

  2. Casey October 21, 2010 at 10:44 AM #

    That coat is definitely worth a bit of patience and stalking!!! hehe. I tend to be a bit impatient too, especially when it comes to vintage. Mostly because you never know when it’ll turn up again!

    I have to say, this coat looks startlingly close to that one we saw at Sherry’s recently…

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2010 at 5:30 PM #

      Ha! Do you mean the one at Sherry’s that I bought on payday?? 😉 I went back this past Saturday and got it. Heh heh- see, no patience!

  3. Lauren October 21, 2010 at 10:59 AM #

    Oooh! The coat! I saw that one on Etsy, too, and was so tempted! I’m so glad you got it and have plans to make it up 🙂 Can’t wait to see!

    • eileensbasement October 21, 2010 at 5:34 PM #

      Now that I’ve been bitten by the coat-making bug (thanks to Gertie), I’m sure I’ll be making it up soon. I can’t wait to see the coat that you’re making. The bits you’ve posted about the fur collar have already got the gears in my head turning for this pattern.

Leave a Reply

