Sewing for Kids- One Mom’s Guilt

23 Oct

When people  learn that I sew their first question after “can you hem my pants?” is usually, “do you sew for your daughter?” It’s either that, or, “Your daughter must have an amazing closet full of hand-made clothes!” Readers, she does not. For some reason I usually feel pretty awkward after this exchange. That somehow my daughters lack of a closet full of me-made clothes gives the perception of me being less of a Mom to her. Or, that this somehow translates into supreme selfishness on my part.

That being said, she does have a sizeable dress up box that comprises years worth of Hallowe’en costumes that I’ve sewn for her through the years. For her birthday, she specifically requested a special dress for her party, which I happily sewed. For Christmas, I bought the below pattern to make up a cute dress for her to wear when we go visit with Santa.

I wish this pattern came in my size!

I’ve also recently had the good fortune to find the “daughter” pattern to a Mother-Daughter dress-alike pattern series from the 1940s that I intend to make up over the summer. So you see it isn’t as though I never sew for her. I’m just wondering from whence does this expectation spring?

It isn’t as though I don’t enjoy sewing for her- I do. I get the fun of playing with cute prints that wouldn’t necessarily fly with my own clothes. It’s just that ultimately kids are terribly hard on their clothes. And they grow so fast that it seems a bit of a time-drain to make their ordinary everyday clothes for them to grow out of it the minute you finish! I find that it’s more cost and time effective to buy the day-to-day clothes when there’s a really great sale going on and saving the sewing for a truly special occasion, or, when I receive a specific request!

For those of you out there who have kids and also sew- do you sew for your kids?

3 Responses to “Sewing for Kids- One Mom’s Guilt”

  1. Casey October 25, 2010 at 6:28 AM #

    My mom used to sew for my sister and I, but it was usually limited to special occasion clothes and dress up costumes! She simply did not have the time to fit in making everyday stuff for us (though the little fashion maven I was at the time would have loved it!), in between everything else the mom of younger children has to do! lol. I think I will probably plan on taking a similar tact; unless of course I can figure out how to squeeze more than 24 hours into a day… lol.

    I love that pattern you posted a picture of! I’ve been stalking Ebay recently for 30s and 40s children’s clothes patterns. Not that I need then any time soon. 😉

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement October 25, 2010 at 7:00 AM #

      Well that makes me feel better. My Mom used to only make the Hallowe’en costumes and my Grandma used to make the fancy dresses!

      Isn’t that a cutie? When I saw it, I knew I had to get it for Leenie. She already likes vintage 😉

      Well not anytime soon that you know of! Ha!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pretty Pattern Sunday #1 « - January 14, 2012

    […] I was further surprised when I showed my daughter the patterns and learned that she would like to dress alike and she loves this pattern the most out of the three that I own! Perhaps I’ll have to sew these up for the both of us as I’m constantly asked if I sew for my daughter. See this post for the answer. […]

Leave a Reply

