October Over and Out

2 Nov

Can you believe that October has left us? I had so many big plans for October and while I did accomplish most of them, I can’t help feeling a sense that I have so much left to do!

At the top of my October things to do were two baby sweaters for friends whose babies were due. I’m pleased to report that I finished both baby sweaters that I set out to knit. One is still in pieces, but I’m counting it! (Note to self- finish and mail!) I posted a picture of one here and the other will be forthcoming as soon as I sew it and block it. It’s another from my favorite baby knitting pattern book- Vintage Baby Knits. For those of you who are Ravelers it’s the Jasper Diamond Hoodie.

On the sew-a-long front, I’m afraid I’m woefully behind. I finally set in the sleeves this past weekend! I’d like to finish the collar pad-stitching by the weekend and finish that baby up within the next week or so. Funnily enough, the more I learn about sewing the slower of a sewer I seem to be! Does anyone else experience this?

I did not make myself a Halloween costume this year. I was forced to recycle my costume from last year- Rosie the Riveter. Oh well! The most important thing was that I finished my daughter’s costume- which she looked lovely in. Observe:

Belle

Last, but certainly not least, I began knitting a sweater for my co-worker’s dog. This co-worker also happens to be a dear friend and is utterly devoted to her canine friend. Her birthday was yesterday so unfortunately, I had to wrap her present while it was still on the needles. I received assurances from her that Miss Kona (the dog) would love to model it for the blog!

And now we turn to November. I’d like to start knocking out some of my Fall wardrobe plans soon! Also, I need to take stock of who I’m buying Christmas presents for and who I’m making presents for and get to work on those! Let’s hope November doesn’t turn into October part deux!  What are your November crafting plans?

2 Responses to “October Over and Out”

  1. Tobey November 3, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

    Oh, your daughter looks absolutely lovely in her Belle Dress. That is one happy girl.

    Yes, sewing “correctly” does take more time and effort, but the results are worth it!

    I’m kind of glad you pulled Rosie out again – that was a fantastic costume and it should be seen once more.

    • eileensbasement November 5, 2010 at 5:34 PM #

      Thanks Tobey!! Can’t wait to see you Sunday and hear about your adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

