A Touch of Fall

16 Nov

As the leaves begin to fall, the temperatures dip, and the last of my projects with a deadline are wrapped up, my thoughts turn to my plans for clothes for cooler weather.

It’s odd for a gal who loves cool weather as much as I do to live in a state like Florida. Unlike most who live here, I’m ungrateful when it comes to the moderate winter climes we so famously enjoy here. I’m from a tiny California hamlet in the San Joaquin Valley where there are, in actuality, four seasons. I’m missing this terribly now after three years here.

It’s also hard for a gal who loves wool as much as I do to have to give up this wonder fiber for 85% of the year. I found this lovely Pendleton Wool Plaid Jacket at my favorite local vintage clothing store a few months ago and this weekend I was finally able to wear it!

To be fair though, I did have to take it off after 10, but the point is that I could wear it! Fun side note, when I bought this jacket I was so excited that on the drive home from the shop I took it out of the bag to sit on the seat beside me. The placket fell open to reveal a Disney tag! How cool is that? Some internet research revealed to me that one of the centerpieces of Frontierland was a Pendleton Woolen Mills General Store where Pendleton woolen goods could be bought. The tags were placed in items sold on the Disney property. Unfortunately, the store was closed in the ’90s. Boo! I think that made me want to go to Disneyworld more than the rides! Oh well.

Parting shot!

Savor the Wool Plaid Goodness

6 Responses to “A Touch of Fall”

  1. Jill November 16, 2010 at 10:25 PM #

    LOVE it!!!

    • eileensbasement November 17, 2010 at 6:23 PM #

      Thanks! It’s even better in person- my camera couldn’t really do it justice.

  2. Debi November 17, 2010 at 1:45 AM #

    Oh wow! I absolutely love this Pendleton jacket! What a great find!!

    • eileensbasement November 17, 2010 at 6:22 PM #

      I always find great things at the local vintage shop. If you ever holiday in FL- look me up, we’ll go!

  3. Casey November 17, 2010 at 9:28 AM #

    YAY! I’m so glad you were finally able to sport that (even if just for a few hours ;)! So, so envious! lol.

    I know what you mean about being a bit unimpressed with the constantly warm weather here in FL. I definitely miss the four seasons up in VA (especially this time of year in the Shenandoah Valley–gorgeous!) and the ability to wear things like wool and tights. haha.

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement November 17, 2010 at 6:21 PM #

      What I love about cold weather is coming home to a warm home where the smell of delicious things cooking greets you and people you love await. Is there anything better??

Leave a Reply

