Lady Grey: Complete!

24 Nov

Ta-da! I tailored a coat!

Hi friends. I wanted to (finally) share with you my finished Lady Grey. When last we met, the collar was pinned to a ham and steamed and left overnight. I had the good fortune of having a four day weekend over Veterans Day and I made a commitment to myself that I would finish Lady Grey once and for all!

Imagine if you will, my consternation at realizing, after all the hand stitching involved with the under collar that I’d forgotten to add some additional length to the pattern piece when I increased the seam at the upper back! I had to find the collar pattern, figure out how much length to add, add it, cut the piece out and start the stitching all over again. This took the better part of a day out of my four days.  I attached the upper and lower collar to the coat, and what a difference that extra length made. Previously, the collar was sort of perched on my shoulders but after the addition, it curves gracefully down as it’s meant to do.

After all that work, the facings and lining went together in a breeze! I finished my first ever set of bound buttonholes, hemmed the lining and set it in without any hitches. I did notice that the lining piece attached to the facing dips lower than the hem of the coat, but some quick hem stitches fixed that.  Ta-da!

Flashing the Lining

Wow, I’m so glad I decided to participate in this sew-a-long. I learned a lot, not just about tailoring but construction techniques like the aforementioned bound buttonhole and fitting! And now I’ve a beautiful jacket to wear!  I feel as though I’ve caught a tailoring bug of some kind because I pulled out my collection of Claire Schaeffer “Custom Couture” Vogue patterns and would like very much to make a beautifully tailored wool tweed jacket for work wear.

In the meantime though, I think I’ll sew something that should go together quickly and easily (knock on wood!) for an instant gratification fix before I start on something as complex! I’m thinking of this pattern in a lovely chartreuse tropical wool will be just the thing!

A modern dres with roots in the 50s

13 Responses to “Lady Grey: Complete!”

  1. Debi November 24, 2010 at 5:12 PM #

    Oh wow!!! It’s BEAUTIFUL! What a great job! The lining looks fantastic too! I have yet to tackle bound buttonholes or tailoring but I’m looking forward to doing them as well! Yay! the coat is beautiful and it will go with everything!

    • eileensbasement November 24, 2010 at 10:29 PM #

      Thanks Debi! This was my first time doing all this. Gertie’s tutorials are wonderful and a huge help and I’m sure they’ll be for you as well.

  2. Jill November 24, 2010 at 7:18 PM #

    looks really really chic. Love the lining too!

    • eileensbasement November 24, 2010 at 10:30 PM #

      Thank you, I must admit, I feel pretty chic in it!

  3. Faye Lewis November 24, 2010 at 9:02 PM #

    Your coat looks fantastic. I am still working on mine.

    • eileensbasement November 24, 2010 at 10:31 PM #

      Thank you. Just keep plugging along, you’ll finish in no time!

  4. Ashley November 29, 2010 at 11:45 AM #

    Great job! I just finished the pad stitching on my lady grey and am hoping to get it assembled soon. I’m with you on my next project being quicker and easy!

    • eileensbasement November 29, 2010 at 7:33 PM #

      Thank you. After the pad stitching is complete it’s (for the most part) smooth sailing!

  5. Steph November 30, 2010 at 6:48 AM #

    What a cute version of the Lady Grey! I keep telling myself to just make one already, but a girl only needs so many coats when she lives in the tropics. Great work, I look forward to seeing what else you do.

  6. Steph November 30, 2010 at 6:50 AM #

    Oh, and heads up on that pattern… It often ends up being too roomy in the waist. Liza Jane found it to be so, and it comes up sometimes when students of mine sew it. Luckily, it’s easy to change.

    • eileensbasement December 2, 2010 at 8:43 PM #

      Yes, it took an awful lot of fiddling with the muslin to correct the fit. I took the bust and waist in a LOT but I had to let the peplum OUT a bit. Classic pear shape over here! Thanks for the compliments 🙂

  7. Casey December 1, 2010 at 8:24 AM #

    I’m a bit late in the comment-game, but wanted to chime in and say that I love how your jacket turned out! It’s so elegant and the lining is such a pretty surprise against the dark outer fabric. Bravo!

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement December 2, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

      Thanks darlin’ I’m pretty happy with it and I actually got to wear it today! So you know I wasn’t taking it off, not even in the office.

Leave a Reply

