Channeling my Inner 1940s College Girl

28 Nov

In a previous post I’d mentioned that I was looking for the perfect plaid wool for a skirt. I couldn’t seem to find it! And it wasn’t from a lack of trying. I knew I’d find the perfect plaid when I saw it, but I wasn’t seeing it.

Wouldn’t you know it, I found the perfect plaid skirt on Etsy! And saved myself from matching plaids and making it to boot. Yesterday I went for a jaunt down to my favorite local vintage clothing shop and wore my new skirt! My outfit was inspired by images of wartime college girls.

To top it off, I had amazing luck at the vintage shop. I snagged an AMAZING 1950s Sarong dress, my second this year. They’re so lovely that they merit a post all their own. I hope you’ve had a wonderful weekend as well!

7 Responses to “Channeling my Inner 1940s College Girl”

  1. Jill November 28, 2010 at 3:17 PM #

    that really IS the most perfect plaid skirt. Gorgeous!

  2. Faye Lewis November 28, 2010 at 3:49 PM #

    LOVE that look. I’m planning a similar look in my upcoming sewing plans.

  3. Debi November 28, 2010 at 4:02 PM #

    Wow–that skirt is fabulous! I love the inverted pleating! The whole outfit is fantastic!

    • eileensbasement November 28, 2010 at 8:47 PM #

      Thanks Debi. Sometimes finding the perfect skirt is better than making it huh?

  4. Casey December 1, 2010 at 8:25 AM #

    Very cute! I adore those plaid skirts with a passion–especially when paired with cardigans for that collegiate look! 😉 You’ve got that down to a “t”!

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement December 2, 2010 at 8:52 PM #

      I love this look too. It may even be one I can get away with at work . . . hmm subversive vintage 😉

Leave a Reply

