Chartreuse Palate Cleanser Dress

5 Dec

Hi lovelies. After the super involved sewing that was the Lady Grey I required a palate cleanser of a sewing project. Enter Vogue 8615. It’s a very simple dress; boat neck, 3/4 sleeves, v-back, and circle skirt with pockets! I had a beautiful length of chartreuse tropical wool that fit the bill for this. From start to finish, this dress took me about a week to complete. I finished it just in time to wear it out for Thanksgiving. This past Friday I opted to wear it to work. Instead of dressing down for Fridays I like to dress up.

As I said earlier this week, we had a small cold spell here in sunny Florida which unfortunately seems to have dissipated over the weekend. It was so chilly when I was leaving Friday morning, I was able to pair this dress with my Lady Grey.

So Ladylike

Overall, I’m extremely pleased with this dress. I stabilized the neckline with silk organza and used the same narrow hem technique that Gertie used when she made hers. I learn so much from her!

The best part about this is that I used such a plain, albeit beautiful fabric which means that I can dress it up or down depending on my whims. This color not only goes well with black accessories, but also brown. Thanks to my lovely but sleepy daughter for kindly taking pictures of me at 0530 before I left for work!

I’ve also started the fitting on another modern Vogue (what’s going on here?) but alas! After declaring that I would NOT be making any Xmas presents for anyone, I’ve somehow mapped out no less than four so I’ve had no real time to work on it. I’m sewing one and knitting three others. One present needs to be finished by this Saturday as it’s for my knitting group’s Secret Santa exchange! Wish me luck as I attempt to warp the space/time continuum.  Are you making any presents for anyone this season?

Spinning!!

8 Responses to “Chartreuse Palate Cleanser Dress”

  1. Michelle December 5, 2010 at 11:04 PM #

    I had no idea just how much talent you have at your fingertips! Your knitting always astounded me, but Woman, you can sew! Awwwwesome!

    Alas, I am fool enough to make a gift this season. Although it’s just a cowl and it’s for a white-elephant exchange, it’s still knitting on a time budget. We’ll see.

    • eileensbasement December 11, 2010 at 8:47 AM #

      Thanks lady! Well I changed my tune, I’m making not one, but FIVE Xmas presents now! Yowza! One is done, one is 75% complete, one is almost 50% complete and the last is not yet started. Blerg.

  2. Debi December 6, 2010 at 1:16 AM #

    AMAZING! I love this dress–what a fantastic color and it looks so great with your Lady Grey!

    • eileensbasement December 11, 2010 at 8:48 AM #

      Thanks Debi. I think chartreuse and black are my new favorite color combo. I’m pretty sure I spied it on a vintage pattern cover!

  3. Casey December 6, 2010 at 6:49 AM #

    Oh my gosh, Eileen!!! I simply adore how this dress turned out–it looks really amazing. Plus seeing your Lady Grey in action is reminding me I really, really need to get a move on with mine. (Although I’m going to be honest and admit I’m totally wrapped up in other things right now–new skirts and dresses!!!) Bravo on another fantastic project!

    Isn’t that always how it is with making Christmas gifts?! hehe. I made a couple small things already for others this year, but the big one is Christmas cookies for friends and family. I pretty much am planning on spending a bit of every day for the next couple weeks in the kitchen working on my cookie/goodies list. 😉 lol. Good luck on finishing your presents!

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement December 11, 2010 at 8:49 AM #

      Yes Casey, get a move on before it actually gets semi-cold here and you wish you had it 😉 Plus, I can’t wait to see it!

      I hear you about being wrapped up in other things. I feel the same way. Which is why the ol’ blog is suffering right now.

  4. Ashley December 7, 2010 at 3:28 PM #

    Great job, can’t wait to see what’s next!

    • eileensbasement December 11, 2010 at 8:50 AM #

      Thanks!! I started working on a navy crepe dress but the holidays are taking over all my spare time so it’s on hold right now.

Leave a Reply

