Like Mother, Like Daughter

12 Dec

In Chapter 12 of Harriet Pepin’s book Modern Pattern Design she mentions that, ” for the past several years ‘Mother and Daughter’ dresses have successfully sold in stores.”

A quick scan of images from the time show us that this statement holds true. Mother-Daughter fashions were most famously modeled by Joan Crawford and her daughter, Christina.

1945

Dressing alike wasn’t just limited to entire mother-daughter ensemble. There was apparently a market for matching mother-daughter aprons as well.

Oh Mother, I don't need to learn to cook, I'll be burning my bra before you know it!

Or, for the rollerskating set, there’s these lovely togs:

Grey + Yellow = Grellow!

I’ve got a couple of these mother daughter outfits in my pattern collection. When I bought them, I bought them for the novelty. I’m not sure that I’d ever make them, but I do think they’re darling.

While I’d definitely make the Mother outfits for myself, I’m not so sure what my seven year old would think of the daughter fashions!

Daughter's dress and playsuit

Mother's dress and playsuit

 

How about you, would you ever go for a mother-daughter outfit? Have you ever worn an outfit to match your Mom?

8 Responses to “Like Mother, Like Daughter”

  1. Debi December 13, 2010 at 1:24 AM #

    I adore Mother/Daughter outfits! I think I might have worn one when I was smaller….they are also great for niece/aunt outfits!

    • eileensbasement December 14, 2010 at 5:48 PM #

      I always thought they were cute when I was little but never actually wore one because my Mom thought it was dorky. I still think it’s cute but now it’s my daughter that thinks it’s dorky. I can’t win here. How about you and I dress alike 😉

  2. Casey December 13, 2010 at 7:00 AM #

    I love those matching mother-daughter patterns–so cute! However, as much as I think they’re cupcake-sweet, I dare say I wouldn’t ever “make” my (hypothetical 😉 daughter wear anything that matched me. Unless she asked for it. I guess I’m too much of a fan of allowing children to develop their own sense of style (within certain boundaries) without me imposing the idea of “matching mommy!”. Plus, I hate to say it, having lived through the 80s when the whole “matching family portraits” thing was big in suburbia, it gives me shivers and recollections of completely matchy families. hehe.

    Still, it’s a cute bit of fashion and sewing history!

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement December 14, 2010 at 5:50 PM #

      I love them too but I know Leenie would never go for it! I had friends that would do the matching family portraits. We never did that, actually, my Mom would make fun of people who did! The only family “portrait” we had was when we all took a picture on a giant fake Killer Whale at SeaWorld HA!

  3. Tobey December 15, 2010 at 12:16 PM #

    Never dressed like my mother, but she loved to dress my sister and me in matching outfits. I don’t recommend it. Even to this day when we go somewhere and the colors match, one of us changes.

    • eileensbasement December 15, 2010 at 6:55 PM #

      Tobey that is too funny!

      • Becky December 11, 2012 at 1:06 PM #

        I adore the mother daughter outfits. My daughter is only two right now so we will have to see if she will go for it. You said you had a few of those patterns in your collection. Do you happen to have the girls Simplicity 4641 A in your collection? I really want to make that one for my little girl and I can’t find a copy anywhere! Would you be willing to sell it, if you do have it?

  4. dassinmay October 9, 2012 at 10:57 PM #

    Reblogged this on dassinmay.

Leave a Reply

