Pretty Pattern Sunday #1

19 Dec

I’ve decided to start a new feature that I’m calling Pretty Pattern Sunday. I know when I’m trolling the web I pull a lot of inspiration from the images on vintage pattern envelopes so I thought I could share some with you. I plan to use patterns from my own stash in the majority of these posts unless I find something on the web too stunning not to be shared!

For this inaugural edition I bring you my most recent pattern acquisition. It’s this cutie from 1941.

I have to say that I love everything about this pattern. I think both views are very pretty and if you made them both, no one would be the wiser that it’s the same pattern. I also think this pattern would translate very well to modern life. I’ve made a few dresses in the past that are so distinctly vintage that I find, unless I’m going for the complete vintage look, they are very hard to wear effectively in a modern life. Granted, one doesn’t see a lot of jumper wearing these days, but I feel it would look nice nonetheless. I’m known for being one to “dress up” in the office anyway! I’m seeing the one on the right in black velveteen (too fancy?) or corduroy with the shirt done in white. The one on the left I would try and find fabric to match the pattern as I think it’s perfect as is.

But I digress- as soon as I get a new pattern of course I flip it over to look over the details on the back of the pattern. Imagine my surprise; I flip this pattern over and it says that it is a Mother-Daughter pattern! This after last week’s post about Mother-Daughter patterns from the era.  The pattern listed the number of the daughter’s pattern and a quick Google search led me to a seller who had the daughter pattern.To quote Andy Hardy, “WOO WOO!”

I was further surprised when I showed my daughter the patterns and learned that she would like to dress alike and she loves this pattern the most out of the three that I own! Perhaps I’ll have to sew these up for the both of us as I’m constantly asked if I sew for my daughter. See this post for the answer.

Well all, that wraps it up for today. I hope you’re enjoying this last weekend before the big holiday and spending it like me: relaxing, knitting and watching classic films.

 

 

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #1”

  1. Tobey December 21, 2010 at 4:54 PM #

    I am looking forward to seeing the mother-daughter dresses you make out of this!

    • eileensbasement December 21, 2010 at 9:26 PM #

      I’m looking forward to the time to sew mother-daughter dresses! 😉

Leave a Reply

