Post Christmas Post

26 Dec

Yum! Lucky Santa!

Did everyone have a nice holiday? I sure did. Instead of doing a big dinner, our family has been doing a Christmas breakfast buffet for the past three years. Everyone brings over some sort of breakfast dish and we eat and gather around the tree and watch the kids open gifts. It’s nice because it then frees up your afternoon to play with all the new loot!

I was no exception as Santa was more than generous, bringing me not one, but TWO pairs of shoes I’ve been drooling over and best of all, money for more patterns! My in-laws were good to me too and brought me the cutest book from Bramcost publications on making and trimming hats. If that weren’t enough I got a gift certificate to my favorite vintage clothing shop here in town (that I’m itching to go spend!)

The best part of all though is that I finished almost all my Christmas knitting!! A couple of the presents have not yet been delivered so I won’t post them here but one that I can show you was a little something I knit for a great gal in my knitting group. My knitting group has an annual Christmas party which are lots of fun and this year we decided to have a Secret Santa exchange.  I checked my giftee’s Ravelry queue to see the types of things she was interested in knitting for her soon-to-be-born baby and whipped one up for her.

Here it is. It’s the coolest baby sweater; as you can see the ties are an especially interesting element. The sweater begins at one tie, increases and is knit to the end of the other tie. Neat huh? The sweater can be worn with the lapped side in the front, or, my personal favorite variation, with the tie ends at the front like so:

Cute huh? As much as I enjoy knitting for others, frankly I can’t wait to finish the sweater vest I’m making now. The recipient knew when he asked for it that it wouldn’t arrive on Christmas day, but I’ve been knitting furiously to get it finished as soon as possible so I can go back to knitting and sewing for myself!

That being said, last night I took a much-needed knitting break to cut out Vogue 8280; I’m making the view with the sleeves and the sweetheart neckline. I’ve cut it from a pretty length of navy blue wool crepe that I think will go nicely with my new shoes don’t you?

4 Responses to “Post Christmas Post”

  1. Ashley December 29, 2010 at 12:00 PM #

    Beautiful sweater, I’d try to make a bigger one for myself…if only I could knit! Really like the vogue pattern and new shoes too 🙂

    • eileensbasement January 2, 2011 at 9:47 PM #

      Thanks! I love knitwear with interesting construction too.

  2. Tobey December 31, 2010 at 10:56 PM #

    Wow! Your family was certainly good to you. Glad you all had a wonderful day.

    That is the most adorable sweater and I got to see it in REAL LIFE!

    • eileensbasement January 2, 2011 at 9:47 PM #

      Thanks Tobey! I agree, they are good to me, on Christmas and year round!

Leave a Reply

