Happy 2011

2 Jan

Did ya’ll have a nice New Year’s celebration? Hubby and I thought about attending a local swing dance event, but were unable to find a sitter and then, once I did find a sitter Hub confessed that he was actually sort of happy that we’d previously been unable because he wanted to be a homebody this year! So we made a pact, every other year we’ll make plans to go out. I didn’t really make any resolutions this year, just to be more mindful of my food choices and make exercise a daily part of my life, and to finish my Master’s degree with honors this Fall.

Tonight my family and I attended a fun get-together with my knitting group and I’m looking on it as a delayed New Years party. I was particularly excited because I finished the dress I mentioned cutting out in my last post, with 30 min to spare to get ready for the party! Phew! was that a close one! Here’s the big unveil:

Fab!

I. LOVE. THIS. DRESS. It was a bit fiddly working on the fauxlero part of the bodice, but once I got over the wonky Vogue instructions it was pretty smooth sailing. I forgot how big modern Vogue patterns typically run (crazy amounts of ease!) I cut at 12 but I think I could have gotten away with an 8 on the bodice and out to a 10 on the hips. Yikes. I had to take about 4″ out of the upper back to make the shoulders and fauxlero sit correctly. It’s a little tight now, but it sure looks a lot better than when it was pooching out. This bagginess is my own fault; I tissue fit rather than sewed a muslin, and just to be on the safe side, I made the side seam allowances measure 1″.

Side View

Oddly, the pattern only called for the bodice to be lined (note to self: ALWAYS read through the instructions BEFORE buying fabric) so I was set back a day by having to wait until the store opened to buy more lining for the skirt. I mean really, who just lines the bodice? If one’s fabric is see-thru on top, chances are, it’s going to be see-thru on the bottom right?

I did the hem by, gasp!, machine but I’m happy with the way it looks so I’m not too worried that I didn’t do it by hand. I’ll let you in on a little secret, even though I hand-picked the zipper, there just wasn’t enough time to tack down the inner bodice lining so I didn’t! Since it’s inside, it was obviously not noticeable and I’ll do that tomorrow. Overall, I’m EXTREMELY happy with this dress. I swear, ever since I read Fit For Real People it has changed my sewing life. I need to stop borrowing it over and over from the library and just buy it already!

An added benefit to finishing the dress was that I got to wear it with my Christmas shoes! Hooray for nice fitting dresses and fancy shoes! May your New Year be filled with both.

6 Responses to “Happy 2011”

  1. Tobey January 3, 2011 at 9:09 PM #

    Thanks for sharing the pictures here, and it is a beautiful dress. The red accessories are the perfect touch.

  2. Casey January 4, 2011 at 3:47 PM #

    Oh my! I love the color! The dress fits you beautifully, despite having to fiddle around with the weirdness of modern pattern fitting. 😉 Bravo!

    ♥ Casey | blog

    • eileensbasement January 4, 2011 at 5:34 PM #

      Is it pathetic that I bought the fabric to match the shoes??

      Thanks for the kudos. I got so worried after tissue fitting, making adjustments, cutting and sewing only to have SO MUCH room in the upper back only! Luckily I was able to pinch the excess and fix it. Hmm. Back to vintage patterns for me!

  3. Ashley January 5, 2011 at 9:25 AM #

    That is a really great outfit, such a classic style too. What a great thing to have in your closet!

    I’ve heard a lot of people say “Fit for Real People” was an amazing book, need to add that to my wishlist.

    • eileensbasement January 6, 2011 at 6:56 PM #

      Hi Ashley; yes, it’s a great book, it really will change the way you approach fitting and it takes a lot of the mystery out of it. I need to buy it as well since I keep taking it out at the library to reference. Thanks for the compliment!

Leave a Reply

