Happy Birthday Me!

10 Feb

My birthday was Tuesday and my little family and I had planned a nice little day trip to Disneyworld. Lo and behold, my son came down with a fever, and as a special present, gave his germs to me. Other than this little hiccup, it was a lovely and enjoyable day and boy, did I EVER clean up! I awoke to some great presents from friends and family but I have to say that my husband really outdid himself this year! Everyone likes a little show and tell (or at least I really do!) so I thought I’d share some of my gifties with you.

I got these:

New Shoes!

Unfortunately, I took them back. They are so, so beautiful, but honestly, I don’t have anything in my closet that they go with, nor do I really have the time to make anything to go with them (if you do- please, go buy them, they’re at Dillards!) They represent to me that my husband is actually listening when I squeal with joy over a thing of beauty whether I’ll wear it or not. In addition, he gave me a gift card to a store I like where I tried in vain to buy modern clothes but walked out with a purse and belt that have a distinctive vintage flair! The final piece de resistance came when he presented me with a box containing- a dress form!!

Here’s the new dress form modeling an almost-finished cotton lace sweater from a 1930s pattern:

I just need to add the collar!

With the money that I got back from the shoes (and a gift certificate from Dad) I raided my own Amazon wishlist and  have a ton of new sewing, knitting, and vintage books headed my way! Speaking of books, my in-laws were kind and generous and bought me the much coveted Clair Shaeffer’s Fabric Sewing Guide and this little lovely:

I know, I’m spoiled rotten! It was a great birthday!

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday Me!”

  1. Debi February 11, 2011 at 2:59 AM #

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! What fabulous gifts…the dressform is fantastic (how thoughtful!) And the sweater you are working on looks FABULOUS!

  2. Tobey February 13, 2011 at 11:03 PM #

    Those shoes are gorgeous. I love that DH went and got them for you all on his own. Bonus points! I am so pleased about the dress form – you will get so much use from it. Does she have a name yet?

    Clare Shaeffer’s book is one of the best in my opinion. Mine has come in handy a few times.

    • eileensbasement February 13, 2011 at 11:19 PM #

      I’m thinking of calling her “Martha” 🙂 Oh great! I can’t wait until I have time to read the book!

      Hubs is great!

Leave a Reply

