Pretty Pattern Sunday #5

13 Feb

Though the weather is still a bit cold here (for Florida anyway, this means temps in the high 40s to 50s) my thoughts have begun to turn to spring/summer clothes. For this pale girl, nothing beats a cool pair of linen pants in the summertime. I have a great pattern in my collection that I think fits the bill exactly for making just such a pair of pants.

Betty Grable!!

You’ve just got to love those pants. I mean, the high waist, the wide legs that cover one’s feet just so. Bliss! I was thinking they’d be great in a lovely navy blue! I’d like to make the shirt in a matching handkerchief weight white linen and wear the whole ensemble with my new sandals!

Squee!!

Peeps, I can’t tell you how excited I was to find these! Last year when Gertie posted them I couldn’t afford them. But then they sold out! I was so sad. Recently, I decided to search for them again; to see if possibly I could get a used pair on ebay. Imagine my surprise to find them on PiperLime!

In between school and homework I’ve been working on a project that I’ve been wanting to do for quite a while- a pair of 1940s jeans! I’m still in the muslin phase since I didn’t want to cut into my perfect denim without getting a perfect fit. With some of my birthday money, I ordered the book “Pants for Real People.” Once it arrives I’ll have to post a review. I’ve got about a 12″ difference between my waist and hips (darn German child-birthin’ hips of mine!) so fitting pants is ALWAYS a challenge. Stay tuned!

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #5”

  1. Tobey February 13, 2011 at 11:05 PM #

    Oh, the shoes! Those will be perfect with the slacks. Are you going to make the adorable cuff?

  2. eileensbasement February 13, 2011 at 11:20 PM #

    Yes ma’am. I plan to make them as is 🙂

Leave a Reply

