Pretty Pattern Sunday #6

13 Mar

Good Morning! Did you remember to “spring  your clocks forward?” My alarm clock updates automatically, so imagine how surprised I was when I “slept in” to 8 a.m. I can see some of you smirking right now, but a typical day sees me getting up at 5:00 a.m. so I really mean sleeping in!

Today I thought I’d share with you a pattern I consider one of the most beautiful I own. I can’t explain why I think so, it’s very simple.

My guess is that it is  a mid-40s dress. The shaping is formed by deep darts at the shoulders and waist. The skirt is softly gathered using the same technique. One thing that made this pattern unique for me is that it’s the first one that I found a scrap of fabric inside. The original owner made this dress out of a sheer pink batiste. The batiste was dotted with flocked black polka dots! How I wish I could find a fabric like that today. It must have made a beautiful dress and I’d love to see a picture.

I hope you’re enjoying your weekend as I am. I stopped by a nice parking lot sale at my favorite vintage shop and scored a few nice things there. Then hubby and I and the kids drove to a local “antiques row” for some browsing. We didn’t come away with much though I very nearly bought a mint green Singer Featherweight that I saw in one shop. I didn’t buy it due to the rudeness of the saleslady to my children who were digging through a basket of candy on the floor. My husband exchanged words with the lady and we promptly left! Oh well. We saw a total of three featherweights so I’m not worried about their scarcity.

Take care and I’ll be back tomorrow!

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #6”

  1. Casey March 14, 2011 at 7:19 AM #

    Love this pattern! I always get so giddy when I find old fabric scraps in a vintage pattern–especially if I like the original fabric choice. 😉 Flocked pink batiste?! Yes please!

    Too bad about the antiques store… :p People can be so cranky sometimes!

    ♥ Casey

    • eileensbasement March 15, 2011 at 5:05 PM #

      Thanks! This is my first encounter with scraps o’ fabric in the pattern. It’s super cute!

Leave a Reply

