A Bit of Knitting

15 Mar

Despite the recent deluge of schoolwork I have managed to knit a bit here and there. Case in point is my newly finished sweater.

Modeled by my new dress form, Martha

The pattern is “Bloom” by talented designer Kim Hargreaves. I fell in love with this sweater the moment I saw the pattern. My local yarn shop had unexpectedly received a shipment of the pattern booklet and I snapped it up pretty quickly! I waited around a while to get the yarn. I really liked the yarn in the photograph (incidentally, this shade of green is my favorite color) but it was a bit spendy. Fate smiled on me once again when a chance sale email popped into my in-box with this very yarn as one of the ones slated to be discontinued.

I cast on after Christmas. School started on the 10th. Progress was slow. But, weekend before last, I came down with the cold from hell. I was sick all weekend and two days into the work week to boot. By this time I had all but one sleeve finished and the four unexpected days spent horizontal on the couch watching TCM were a boon to finishing this up!

>sigh<

How about this neckline folks? Is there anything more flattering? It looks just as good on, I can assure you. An unexpected dip in temperature last Friday meant Bloom saw her debut at work, but something tells me that this will be the last time for a while that she’ll be out of the mothballs.

Here’s a close-up of the beading and lace detail on the sleeves. So pretty! This has to be my favorite knitted item I’ve made to date. Sorry for the dress form pictures- when I wore it on Friday it was gray and cloudy! Next on the needles is “Made So Quickly” from Susan Waller’s “A Stitch in Time.”

6 Responses to “A Bit of Knitting”

  1. Casey March 16, 2011 at 4:08 PM #

    That sweater is drop-dead GORGEOUS!!! I’m in love with the delicate beading on the sleeves; such a beautiful detail.

    ♥ Casey

    • eileensbasement March 19, 2011 at 9:14 PM #

      Thank you. All the credit goes to the designer for the details. It was so perfect I knit it as-is!

  2. Tobey March 16, 2011 at 4:18 PM #

    I LOVE this sweater. Good thing we are no where near the same size or I might be trying to barter for it!

  3. Jennifer April 28, 2011 at 11:36 AM #

    Love this! Didn’t realize it had beading, gorgous.

  4. Jennifer April 28, 2011 at 11:40 AM #

    Love this! Didn’t realize it had beading, gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

