Distracted . . .

19 Mar

I had every intention to post yesterday. Honest I did! But the daughter and I went to a local Sewing and Quilt Expo and when we got home look what was awaiting me:

I still haven't named her.

Meet my “new” Singer 201-2!! I went online at the beginning of the week in search of a Singer Featherweight and my research revealed to me that in actuality, what I really wanted was a 201-2. She’s a 30 pound, cast-iron beauty! I plugged her in and was astounded! She’s quieter than my year old brand-spanking new Viking. Isn’t that amazing? Many reviews of this machine state that after purchasing this machine the seamstress has eschewed her newer, fancier machines in lieu of using this one.

I did some research on her serial number and discovered that she was born on June 6th, 1938 and has 4.339 siblings! She was born in Elizabeth, New Jersey but I’ll forgive her for that 😉 For a 73 year old machine, she runs like a dream.

She didn’t come alone; look at everything she came with!

Yay!

Those things you see are the famous Singer buttonhole attachment, the Singer zigzag attachment and a myriad of other unidentified feet. Have I sewn with her? Alas, I have not simply because she arrived sans instruction manual! There is a free one online but I really dislike reading on a computer screen. I’d print it off but it’s a whopping 34 pages! I’ve got a line on one on Ebay and fingers crossed I win it!

Unfortunately, my Spring break is drawing to a close. This semester has made me realize that I should take things slower and stop killing myself so I’ll be taking the Summer off for crafting! This means that I’ll be setting myself back a semester, but I’m fine with that.

4 Responses to “Distracted . . .”

  1. Debi March 19, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

    ooohhhh! Lovely! She is a beauty!

  2. eileensbasement March 20, 2011 at 11:06 AM #

    Thanks Debi! She really is lovely and so quiet- I can’t believe it!

  3. Phyllis October 27, 2013 at 7:20 PM #

    Love these old machines. Yours is a beauty! Would like to know how much space there is to the right of the needle?

Leave a Reply

