Pretty Pattern Sunday #7

20 Mar

I just finished watching the movie “Bombshell” starring Jean Harlow this morning and it was chock full of lovely Thirties fashions by none other than Adrian. It was a good movie, and one they say most closely resembles Jean Harlow’s real life of being hounded constantly by the press and adoring fans, having newspapers concoct sensational stories about her and relatives mooching off of her.

In the spirit of this, I thought I’d post one of my very few Thirties patterns today.Though it isn’t nearly as glamorous as the frothy Adrian fashions, I still find it beautiful.

 

Unfortunately, my classic pear shape does not lend itself well to the straight skirted styles of the mid-thirties. I thought this later pattern, with its slightly flared skirt would be flattering! The dress in the movie still above was similar in that it consisted of a sheer overdress with a slip underneath.  Would you wear something like this?

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #7”

  1. Debi March 20, 2011 at 3:45 PM #

    Lovely pattern! I adore the sleeve caps on this dress! I would definitely wear something like this. I’ve been wanting to make a sheer dress with a slip underneath from the 30’s/40’s….

  2. Becca March 20, 2011 at 5:20 PM #

    i would wear that one, especially the view with the puffed sleeves. Just lovely.

Leave a Reply

