Luau Lass

27 Mar

Hello there!

On Friday my work had a bar-b-que that had a luau theme. I immediately knew what I was going to wear- I’ve had this reproduction 1950s “Tiki” dress in my closet since October and haven’t had an occasion to wear it. Of course I knew that I’d be way overdressed but ask me if I care!

Va-va-VOOM!

I LOVE this dress. It does all the right things for me. I swear, there’s some SERIOUS rigging in this thing that ah-hem, emphasizes certain attributes while slimming and whittling others. This dress works MAGIC on my figure! I got a lot of compliments and one  person said I reminded them of Jessica Rabbit! Oh-kay . . . compliment? Not so sure.

Sans Bolero!

As you can see my hair fell a little flat. This is what it looked like when I left the house.

Hooray for pincurl sets!

As you can see, I wore something a little less dramatic to work until it was time to change for the luau 🙂  The bar-b-que was fun; beats working all afternoon, that’s for sure! It was a great way to kick off the weekend.

Also last night the hubby and I went to see our favorite band, The Avett Brothers. It was an amazing, amazing show. The opening act, Langhorne Slim, was really good as well. So good we bought their album after the show and the band was there signing records! We were able to meet them and they signed it for us. I wished we could have met the Avetts!! I haven’t been this excited about a band since I was a teenager. If you haven’t yet checked them out, do yourself a favor and do so.

In school news, I just finished an assignment that I’ve been working on for 12 hours straight! Yikes. I plan to spend tomorrow learning to use Norma (my 1938 Singer 201-2). Enjoy the rest of your weekend- I know I will!

6 Responses to “Luau Lass”

  1. Debi March 27, 2011 at 5:46 AM #

    Fabulous dress! I’ve always wanted a tiki halter dress! This one is perfect!!

  2. Bethany April 4, 2011 at 5:31 PM #

    I’ve been lusting after a tiki dress for quite some time, and this post inspired me to get one asap! I’ve got my little eye on this one: http://www.pinupgirlclothing.com/tiki-dress-blue.html. Definately getting one this summer to wear to barbeques!

  3. elizaduckie April 5, 2011 at 9:32 AM #

    I’m really late to this party..thank you to TB for mentioning you had a blog. How did I miss that??

    You mentioned this dress but I’d not seen it, nor you in it…OMG! Whoa! A simply *perfect* dress for you and you look entirely amazing in it!

    • eileensbasement April 5, 2011 at 5:52 PM #

      Thanks! It really does all the work; there’s some SERIOUS rigging in there Wendy!

  4. John March 27, 2013 at 9:34 AM #

    Love the look
    Cheers. J

Leave a Reply

