An Exchange of Kindness

6 May

Oh no! Week one of my break is almost over leaving only one week left! I don’t know where the time goes, I was going to have all these lovely things sewn by now but alas! I’ve spent much of my “time off” at work, exercising once I get home and that funny thing we all do called eating. I’ve also managed to knit two more Monster toys but since I just did a post about them I won’t post them just yet! They really are such a fast and easy knit.

What I’d like to talk about today is sewing. I managed to sew during the semester but it’s so sad. I only managed two things: a new bag, and a billowy top for my friend Andrea.

See, during the semester I had to perform a usability study and I needed a guinea pig. I asked Andrea to be that guinea pig and she readily agreed. In exchange for her kindness of letting me observe her closely while she clicked around a website and the annoyance of me writing notes and ticking off every missed click, I agreed to make Miss Andrea a blouse.

Recently Andrea and I were thumbing through knitting magazines (as we are wont to do) and we found that we LOVED many of the billowy white blouses that are paired with many a knitted cardigan or lacy shawl. I offered to make Andrea a billowy blouse. The best part of this was that we were able to shop my stash and Andrea choose an ethereal piece of dotted swiss  for the fabric. She waited patiently while it took me a few months to sew the one top. Here are the results:

I think this is a beautiful pairing of fabric and pattern. Andrea seemed very pleased with it for which I’m glad. I always get worried when I make a present that it won’t quite live up to the receiver’s expectations.

When I haven’t been completely immersed in knitting monsters, I’ve been working on a quilt from my haul at the quilt show. Unfortunately my year old Husqvarna started hiccuping a bit and I’ve had to take her to the shop for her yearly tune-up so that put a halt to that. You may be thinking, “But Eileen, you have two other sewing machines,” which is what I thought as well, but my quilting mentor put her foot down and insisted that it’s best to quilt it all on one machine. >sigh< I’ll get her back on Monday; is it Monday yet?

5 Responses to “An Exchange of Kindness”

  1. Roobeedoo May 6, 2011 at 9:40 AM #

    Ooh yes – that is just what is needed under a lacey knit! I have some white dotted swiss in the stash but haven’t quite found the right pattern for it. Did you draft this yourself?

  2. elizaduckie May 6, 2011 at 12:14 PM #

    Fabulous! And even more so in person. I sighed over the Dotted Swiss. It will be so perfect for Miss A can’t wait to see her in it! 😀

  3. annabear2005 May 8, 2011 at 8:23 PM #

    I’m Andrea, the guinea pig, and the top is just wonderful! I keep thinking I need to wear it for Eileen but it always seems to be in the laundry basket when I know I’ll see her. It is being loved!

  4. Tobey May 8, 2011 at 10:02 PM #

    How beautiful, and perfect for Andrea.

    Dotted swiss is one of my favorite fabrics – I remember a dress I made with it while in High School that had lace on the sleeves…

  5. Casey May 10, 2011 at 7:39 AM #

    Is that the Hancock dotted swiss from this spring I spy? 😉 Love how the top turned out–the yoke is such a graceful feature!

Leave a Reply

