Basket Lid or Hat- You be the Judge!

10 Jul

Well Hullo! I’m just going to plunge in as though I’ve not been absent for over a month. If you’ve been reading you know I’m working on my MA in addition to working full time and raising a family and keeping up with my various hobbies and interests so I’m sure by now you know the routine- I don’t always have time for this ol’ blog.

I wanted to quickly post about something I’m very excited about. One of my dearest, best friends is getting married in August (to coincide with my visit West- what a doll!) and I’ve been named as Matron of Honor. I recently posted on my Facebook account this picture:

I adore my hat + dress!

I couldn’t believe the amount of animosity that I received about my choice of hat! I thought clearly, anyone could see that this was the most perfect, fabulous hat to ever grace this earth, but apparently I was incorrect. I was asked by several people why I was choosing to wear a basket on my head. A Basket! Of all the silly things, anyone can see that this is a lovely 40s pancake/saucer topper! Lucky for me, my dear friend asked me to wear my hat to the wedding and reception. You can’t argue with the bride!

I bought the Trashy Diva “Doll Dress” in the new fab “Slap and Tickle” print to go with it. What do you think? Does the hat go with the dress?

I say “yes” but I wonder if others see it the same way. I’ll be pairing it with leather round toed black pumps and possibly may add gloves . . . but I’m still undecided on that. So what say you? Fabulous hat? Or silly girl with a basket on her head?

TTFN!

4 Responses to “Basket Lid or Hat- You be the Judge!”

  1. Tasha July 10, 2011 at 5:44 PM #

    Personally, I think it’s a FANTASTIC combination!

  2. Casey July 11, 2011 at 10:38 AM #

    Well, I love it, but then again I adore that dress! haha! But the hat is beautiful from another vintage-appreciator standpoint. But it’s one of those tricky 40s/50s styles that I can see others (aka types not in the know with vintage πŸ˜‰ being a bit confused by the hat. I say wear it anyway! πŸ˜€

  3. elizaduckie July 14, 2011 at 11:58 AM #

    I love the dress! The hat bothers me because of it’s very orangy looking color against the pretty in pink-ish dress. If I picture the hat in a lighter color it doesn’t stand out and dominate quite as much as it does now. I’d rather see the whole person rather than having my eyes captured by the hat! And, hmm, I’m not alltogether sure the flat style really suits you. However, if you really want to go with it I think with the hat having a black bow pairing it with black pumps and bag (small clutch?) and potentially with short black fabric (lace would be better for summer) gloves might pull the whole thing together. In my mind that makes the whole look a bit heavy for deep summer. Is the dress long? If the wedding is an evening event and the dress is longer, say tea length, then black accessories might make sense. In the end you’ll look great no matter the details! Have a great time.

Leave a Reply

