Random Things

30 Jul

Hullo Folks!

Well I can say I’ve thoroughly enjoyed week one of my four weeks off from school! Here’s what I’ve done with it.

I practiced my banjo daily:

Clawhammer Style!

For those of you who don’t know me in person, I’ve been playing my banjo for about a year now. Last year the Hub discovered the music of “The Avett Brothers” which rekindled in me a long hibernating desire to play the banjo (funny story: when I was  a teen I wanted to play banjo because of Harold in my fave movie “Harold and Maude”, but, alas, I was afeared of what my peers would think and took guitar lessons. Gee! I wonder why those didn’t stick!) I started playing the bluegrass “fingerpicking” style but earlier this year we had the good fortune to see a “Carolina Chocolate Drops” show and I realized that they were playing in a different style from myself. I’m so green I didn’t know there were other styles! So now I’ve made the switch to what’s called clawhammer. Perhaps sometime I’ll make a video and post?

There was also a finished knitting project  this week.

Photosynthesis

I’ve been on a real chartreuse kick of late. I can’t seem to get enough of the color. This shawl is no exception. This is the Photosynthesis shawl. My version is larger than the one in the pattern. I like a bigger shawl (size is everything in shawls!) that I can wrap effortlessly and not worry about it slipping off my shoulders. This version is also beaded on the little legs of the leaf pattern.

I aptly paired my shawl with one of my finished dresses.

Viola! Lovely rose-printed fabric dress. I LOVE THIS DRESS. I’m really proud of the construction on it. I won’t say more about it because I think it deserves it’s own post for sure.

I also read- a LOT. Mostly books on my latest obsession, urban homesteading. I’m very interested in this movement and would like very much to participate once I get out of this apartment. Unfortunately, I don’t even have a little patio from which to grow tomatoes and the like so it shall have to wait. The stand out book of the week is entitled Made From Scratch: Discovering the Pleasures of a Handmade Life by Jenna Woginrich who, thankfully, also has a wonderful blog. She’s a girl after my heart- someone who wants to live more simply, grow food, raise some sheep, all while holding down her regular 9 to 5 job! Amazing! The book was so good that I finished it and put it down for a couple days only to decide that yes, I would like to read it all over again and it’s currently gracing my nightstand! I haven’t done that in ages.Do yourself a favor and pick it up. You won’t regret it.

Well folks, I better wrap this up. I’ve got a long day ahead of prepping  for the homecoming of my little girl who’s been away visiting family. Hope you all are enjoying your weekend.

Leave a Reply

