Pretty Pattern Sunday #9 and an Update!

4 Dec

Well uh, hullo there! It’s been quite a while hasn’t it? Well a lot has happened since July. For starters, I found out that I’d landed an amazing opportunity. It’s a generously paid internship and while it isn’t in my field of study, it does have amazing promotion potential so I thought I’d try it on for size and see if it fits. To take advantage of this, my family and I had to leave sunny Florida and move to, of all places, Ohio! I’m happy to say that the slower pace and cost of living is agreeing with us. As a girl who grew up in Northern California, I sure did miss the seasons living in Florida.

I’m pleased to report that the internship is going well. I’m learning a lot but it’s a bit like learning to swim by having your Dad throw you in the pool. I’m not used to working so hard at work (I’m not complaining though!) but then to come home and have to work hard on my last semester of my Masters degree made for a very busy me. Though there has been some crafting, there hasn’t really been enough to justify a full blown post.

Pattern buying has continued in earnest though I find that I’m much more picky. When I look at them, I no longer buy based on prettiness, but buy based on how well it will fit into a more modern wardrobe. See, my internship is in a pretty business-y field so one must dress the part. No more frivolous dresses at work for me (though plenty on the weekends!). To that end, I’ve been buying a lot of early 60s patterns as evidenced by today’s Pretty Pattern Sunday!

McCalls 5803

Isn’t she a beaut? I can definitely wear the fitted version to work. I don’t plan to make this soon though. Temps have been in the 30s and 40s here so I’m not sure that would work! Plus, before I wear a fitted skirt I need to get down to my “fightin’ weight.” Since I’ve been so busy, I’ve not had time to exercise as much as I like. I plan to remedy that post-haste as I’ve managed to pack on more pounds than I care to mention!

I’m so glad to be back! Expect more posts, a blog re-vamp (if I can figure out how!) and more projects real soon!

xoxox

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #9 and an Update!”

  1. Debi December 4, 2011 at 10:52 AM #

    YAY! Welcome back! Sounds like you’ve been very busy indeed!!! The McCall pattern is perfect for a stylish office outfit!!!

    • eileensbasement December 4, 2011 at 11:49 AM #

      Hi Debi! I’m SO GLAD to be back. I can’t even tell you how much. Glad you’re still here đŸ™‚ I’ve been keeping up with you as well though I’ve been comment scarce!

Leave a Reply

