Plans

8 Dec

Now that I have all this free time, I’m not sure what to do with it! See, I’ve been going to school full time and working full time for the last six years. My schedule has largely consisted of the following; wake up, go to work, work all day, go home, work on school work until dinner time, have dinner, hang out with family until children go to bed, study/work some more, go to bed, wake up, repeat. Despite this busy schedule I’ve always managed to squeeze in some form of creativity or another and now that my time is truly mine, I’m looking forward to getting in a lot more.

If you’re anything like me though, you don’t just have one hobby. I have many, many hobbies, perhaps more than any sane person should. They include sewing, knitting, embroidery, reading, banjo-playing and exercising (is this a hobby??). I’ve been reading a lot of “real food” books lately, and I plan to add food-growing to this list come Spring time. I also plan to blog about all these things (too disjointed??) My question is, how is a girl supposed to manage all these interests?

See, I’m a planner. I can’t just fly by the seat of my pants or I’ll get so flustered that nothing will get done. To that end, I’m thinking I need a schedule of some kind to fit in all my hobbies. Things like banjo playing, gardening and exercising will be daily tasks with alternating weeks for sewing and knitting. What do you think? Insane or efficient?

And just so this isn’t an entirely picture-less post, here’s what I wore to work this morning. Save for the long hair, I was channeling Bonnie Parker. I wore three hand-knitted items (hat, gloves, scarf) and one hand sewn (Lady Grey coat!) This was a great outfit for the 28F weather I encountered this morning. Pretty cold for a gal who just moved here from Florida!

All I Need is a Tommy Gun

TTFN!

Eileen

4 Responses to “Plans”

  1. Debi December 9, 2011 at 3:32 AM #

    I’m with you…I always need a plan! Love your ‘bonnie’ look….your lady grey is so fab and love all the hand knitted items!! xoxoox… p.s. you just went up 20 notches of coolness because you play the banjo πŸ˜‰ that is awesome!

    • eileensbasement December 9, 2011 at 11:42 AM #

      Ha! Thanks Debi! I sure make an effort to play, that’s for sure, but I really would like to increase my skillz.

  2. Casey December 12, 2011 at 9:52 AM #

    Plans are always a good thing, imho! πŸ˜€ Although I somehow always end up breaking my brilliant schedule because something comes up that I’m just too excited to work on. hehe! But I can’t wait to see what you end up making now that you’re out of school! πŸ˜€

    Love the look–that Lady Grey is going to get a lot of use this winter. πŸ˜‰

    • eileensbasement December 12, 2011 at 8:17 PM #

      It’s SO true! This weekend totally got away from me as did today! I’m busy with Xmas knitting though so it’s understandable, but I can’t wait to get back to making things for ME! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

