Pretty Pattern Sunday #10

11 Dec

This weekend marks the first in a LOOOOONG time that I have not had textbooks to read, papers to write and studying to do! Huzzah! Yesterday involved a fun jaunt to the local Farmer’s Market for the weekly shopping, chopping down a tree for Xmas, a delicious dinner of baked macaroni and cheese, and snuggling on the couch with my kiddos while watching Elf. It was a good day.

The weather is getting pretty intense for this gal who has lived in Florida for the last 5 years- I had to bust out the ice scraper to get ice off the windshield of my car for the first time in my life! Because of this change in weather, I’ve had to take a long hard look at the pattern and fabric stash; the former consists of many, many vintage sundress patterns and the latter consists of fun rayons and cottons. Oh dear.

For this week’s pretty pattern I’m continuing the theme of patterns that are not only work appropriate, but more importantly, WARM. I give you this fab ’50s suit:

I love how grey’s hat matches green’s suit! What is not to like about this suit? The trim little lapels which lead to the lovely nipped-in waist and the generous peplum all contribute to the hourglass effect of the jacket. The skirt seems very narrow at the knees, only serving to highlight this effect. I envision this suit very much like the one on the right- in grey flannel or something similar. I would wear it with yellow as I adore that combination. I think the “V” neck is calling out for a statement necklace as well.

Hope you’re having as wonderful a weekend as I am. Today’s agenda- exercise, banjo practice, cookie baking, and tree trimming. My goodness it feels good to have my time back!

TTFN!

Eileen

2 Responses to “Pretty Pattern Sunday #10”

  1. Casey December 12, 2011 at 9:50 AM #

    I know what you mean about having a stash full of summer fabrics! lol. I’m scrambling a bit to come up with some suitable materials for winter sewing. hehe. Love the pattern you featured; those trim, mid century suits are always so classic. I have one pattern in my stash that I’ve been meaning to make for years (I’ve made up the skirt portion several times, but not he jacket–it has somewhere around a million pieces. lol.). Need to just find the right fabric–and time! lol.

    • eileensbasement December 12, 2011 at 8:16 PM #

      I’m scrambling too. My Dad and Step-Mom sent me a gift card for graduation and I’m thinking a trip to Cincinnati is in order. I’ve heard there’s a good fabric store there.

Leave a Reply

