Incredible Thrills! Amazing Finds!

26 Dec

Okay so maybe I’m over exaggerating a bit with the title there, but I’m telling you folks, the thrifting in Ohio is GOOOOOOD! I’ve had nothing but the best luck with thrifting since I’ve moved here. A week ago a friend of mine tipped me off that she’d seen not one, but FIVE Pendleton wool jackets at the local thrift (what a good friend right?). I madly dashed off to the store during my lunchbreak and though I was only able to find one of the aforementioned Pendletons (and a man’s shirt no less) I was still able to find some neat things. I thought I’d share with you a couple of my favorite finds.

As anyone who lives where it is cold is well aware, coats and other sundry Winter wear seem to be a bit dull. This coat is anything but. I think I may have squealed with delight when I found this shocking pink ’60s beauty. The inside is just as pretty as the outside in a similar pink color. It’s pretty warm despite its light weight. Folks at the office thought I’d made it myself (since the word somehow always gets out that I’m crafty!).

My favorite find of the day came in the form of a Persian lamb jacket with mink collar. It’s another one that I squealed when I pulled it off the rack.

Ahh, snuggly!

This is such a classy piece of clothing and is it warm! The sleeves are ingenious; they feature a sort of bell sleeve with a cinched inner sleeve so those cold drafts of wind won’t sneak up your sleeves! This is something I’ve not encountered before- so clever! I’m so glad to live somewhere now where coats and jackets are worn near daily.

I know I didn’t post much about the holidays but I hope you and yours had a great holiday season, whatever you may celebrate. I leave you with a gratuitous outfit post in front of the tree. I wore this on Thursday before I was off for Christmas break! It’s so festive.

Feeling Festive!

Ciao darlings!

Eileen

4 Responses to “Incredible Thrills! Amazing Finds!”

  1. Tobey December 27, 2011 at 9:35 PM #

    Merry Christmas! Miss you, but love the pictures and seeing your thrifty finds. Amazing!

    • eileensbasement December 31, 2011 at 3:05 PM #

      Merry Christmas to you too Tobey and Happy New Year! Miss you terribly!

  2. Chris January 2, 2012 at 4:18 PM #

    Yep – that persian lamb jacket is definitely FANTASTIC! i had to run over to that thrift store today after you mentioned it at knitting last night and I realized just how long it had been since I’d bee there. Strangely, I got nothing but a bag of books!

    • eileensbasement January 8, 2012 at 11:04 AM #

      Thanks! Just keep going back, you’ll find some great things!

Leave a Reply

