So This is the New Year

31 Dec

I’m not one that typically goes in for New Year resolutions but for some reason or another this year, I have not one or two but FIVE. All of which, I think, are easily attainable.

The first is to read at least one book every couple of weeks. Since I’ve started knitting (and schooling and parenting and everything else) my book consumption has dropped WAY down. Well just in the last month of being finished with school I’ve read several very good books and I’m itching for more!

The second is to practice my banjo every day.

Strummin' on the ol' banjo

See, this year I’d like to attend a banjo camp of some sort or another and my skillz aren’t anywhere near what I want them to be. The only cure for this is diligent and daily practice.

The third is to sew at least one garment per month. On a whole sewing is my most expensive hobby, and also the one that I don’ t practice nearly as much (knitting seems to be the one that gets most of my time). There are so many things that I want to make in 2012 starting with a black wool dress (can you believe I don’t have a single little black dress in my closet?) and working towards jeans that actually fit, vintage jeans, and vintage trousers.

The fourth is to work on my web skillz. The little banner above represents about the most I’ve been able to do since I’ve started this blog, but this is really something that I’d love to be more savvy about. There are so many beautiful blogs out there and I’d love to join their ranks!

Finally, and this is a more personal resolution, is to sock some money away in my savings account that I will here on out refer to as my FFF or Future Farm Fund. I’d love to buy a little patch of land to call my own and raise food for my family and me.

So there you have it, my humble New Year’s Resolutions. I hope you and yours are enjoying the day and reflecting on the past and looking towards what the future holds. May 2012 be your best year yet!

Eileen

 

4 Responses to “So This is the New Year”

  1. Debi January 1, 2012 at 3:56 PM #

    Fabulous resolutions…I love the FFF! That would be so great!!

    • eileensbasement January 2, 2012 at 9:07 AM #

      Thanks! Yes, I would love to have a farm. I’m devouring all the books on the subject that I can.

  2. elizaduckie January 2, 2012 at 11:13 AM #

    This is my first time seeing the finished shirt I saw you embroidering parts of, it looks great!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy 2012!! « - January 1, 2012

    […] school of some kind or another! Thus the five New Year’s resolutions I’d posted yesterday. Today’s post has to do with the third resolution, that of sewing one garment per month which […]

Leave a Reply

